BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all.

The other half decided to get a 320d for her daily commute and I have spent the last few days trying to find a decent example within her budget. I must point out that i have very little mechanical knowledge and so would be looking to do a rac/aa check.

Went to see one yesterday. Advertised as 320d se with 60k on the clock, 53 plate, leather interior for £5000. I thought the price was good so went to have a look at it. Turned up and the mileage was actually 45k. the condition of the car was good with very few marks around the bodywork and the leather was in good condition. Was taken out on a test drive as wasn't insured to drive it and everything seemed to be working fine with no strange sounds or anything else. Put a refundable deposit down with the intention of going back after doing a hpi check and having a good test drive myself.

Car was supplied with 2 mot certificates from 2008 and 2009. I have checked these out on the directgov website and all the details match up on the electronic recording. The date of first registration also matches up. The current owner said he bought it from a family member 2 years ago who had a clear hpi check done on it when he bought it.

Looking through all of its previous mot though and I have noticed a problem. It says that the first service was completed after 3 years by stratstone where the mileage was 98'293. there is then a gap of 18 months before it is mot'd again in 2008 where the mileage reads 35000, as it says on the mot certificate.

Spoke to the owner and he says that he can explain the 18 month gap in that when his family member bought the car 2nd hand he took it to bmw for a part and it came up as stolen. The police were called and impounded the car. It was then given back to him over a year later being told the car was not stolen and that it another car had the same identity.