BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

Runflats

1K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  Jonnyg123 
#1 ·
Sorry, newbie here - I assume there have been many threads on this but having recently bought a 2011 BMW 320 se 2L 47k miles petrol hard top convertible, I have a couple of niggles that you guys might be able to steer me on.. (Great car - graphite black with all the extras - £40k new !!)
I hate these runflat tyres, never had them before, but on any basic road surface I just get a constant hollow thrumming which gets worse when the surface is not a motorway standard silky smooth. On a two hour run on the A35 averaging 60 mph + music on I had a bad head. I also feel the steering is very remote like having heavy solid rubber wheels that the car has just been hooked onto. I have no room to carry a spare wheel so not sure about switching to standard tyres, but I wonder if there is a make or tyre RF which better suits the car ? ( Currently on Continental Sport Contacts) I have wondered about lowering the tyre pressures ??? Or could this be a steering / linkage issue ?
I guess the first answer is to only drive with the roof down !!??

Second thing is the gearbox. Love it and sometimes have a go with the paddles, but a couple of times it caught me out on fast roads going up hill.... car drops thru the gears - up a long steepish hill on a dual carriageway ... ends up doing 70mph in 4th pulling nice ...... get to the brow of the hill, level off but finding it still stuck in 4th now doing 80. Car didn't want to change up so I used the paddle to get it up into top gear. Are these autos temperamental or is it me ?
Cheers guys.

See less See more
#2 ·
first of all ditch the Conti;s ,they are not the best as far as comfort concern.