BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK first of all I apologize if my terminology is not 100% accurate as I am not a mechanic. So I was driving my 2009 323i on the 401 highway in Toronto on the way home Friday night, felt a vibration and then the engine light came on. I pulled off the first exit at which point the car definitely felt like it was struggling for power. I towed it to my mechanic and was told I had misfire codes showing up on the OCD. I know when I previously asked for a diagnostic report I received the misfire code below so I am assuming it still existed today:

n54 - cold start rough running with misfire results

diagnosis for dme fc29dc/29f2,2fbf

Mechanic told me two of 6 coils were bad and said all needed changing. After changing all coils I was told the piston ring on cylinder 6 was not expanding causing oil to shoot onto the sparkplug. All other sparkplugs were operating at 195psi but piston 6 only 90 psi. He then mentioned to fix this issue it would be significant engine work or possible replacement in the thousands of dollars cost estimate range and it would be better just to trade in the vehicle for something newer. Rather than give up on my 09 which I bought new of the lot and to date only has 160,000 km are there any more options and what could have let to this issue anyways? The car always burned a lot of oil but I didnt follow the 1 year oil change interval from BMW and did my changes every 6 months (6000km or less). Any feedback or information that might lead to salvaging my baby would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Piston rings causing oil spray into spark plug chamber

·
Registered
820 Posts
I'd like to know how your mechanic came to that conclusion without stripping the engine down. Is the plug from the suspect cylinder just wet (i.e. fuel) or oily? It could be an injector issue. But if a piston ring has failed then he's right, you're looking at a big bill...

·