BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there everyone, I've signed up not so long ago as I'm currently on the hunt for a nice coupé e46. I'm been looking at a few such as the 325ci, 328ci and 330ci. I've tried searching but I can't seem to find positive or definite answers.

A 325 CI in comparison to a 328 CI, which is the one to have? Please note, they're are both going to be E46 coupé so please can you base your facts on them only. ( 325 ci I found is manual whilst the 328 ci Is Tiptronic/SSG)

Servicing costs do not apply to me as I'm a student in the motor section so I service & maintain all my vehicles myself.

I'm coming from a Subaru Impreza WRX so by all means I understand the handling is no where near a match but what is the performance like? Before people jump to conclusions, YES I HAVE TOOK OUT A 328 in my Impreza! Only reason why I'm coming to BMW is that I'm getting mature now and I need something sensible and also I'd like to say I do about almost 300 miles a week!

Is it really worth stretching out that extra bit for a 330 CI ? Summer holidays are near enough coming and I'll be on quite a few roadtrips with the lads :D so would a 330CI be suitable for me even with the current petrol prices in the UK?

Regards
Amin

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
Welcome to the forum and in my opinion go for the 330ci go for the biggest engine you can get and im sure dailydoggy a forum member will be along to tell you about his 330.

It also funny ive taken out a few imprezza's in my 328 :thumbsup

·
Registered
360 Posts
General rule of thumb is go for the biggest petrol engine you can afford.

Though in reality and in a second hand market you also need to temper this against which cars present themselves during your search.

If it's a great example car but it has a 2.5 litre engine should you discount it? It really depends on what you want from the car if your are 'maturing' maybe a 325 should still be on your list.