BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I've been washing about here and there on this forum for a few months now since buying a 328Ci back in Feb/Mar. Although I shopped around and bought what i thought was the best car for the money, I have already had my fair share of problems with it.

First I suffered a coolant leak which turned out to be a leaky top hose but which revealed a thermostat quite literally FULL of oily gunge! :eek
The system was cleaned and has been run for a few hundred miles now and there are signs of a return of the gunge in my header tank, and traces under the oil filler cap too! :jaw-dropping

So now i'm saving up for a cylinder head replacement! :frown

On top of that the CD is not working and the car is tramlining and pulling left. This doesnt seem to be getting worse, but definately wasnt a problem when i test-drove the car a few months ago!

However, just when I get to the end of my rope and contemplate binning the thing, I'll take it for a drive and it'll leave a long-lasting smile on my face! :D

Thanks to NealP, Ronnie, RYM20 and everyone else who's chipped in with advice so far - I'll keep you all posted as to how things are going and, hopefully, I'll have a beauiful, fully functioning, working perfectly, 190bph beast in no time!! :hihi

·
Registered
2,255 Posts
Thats the thing with BMWs, IMO they need lots of TLC and can be potential money pits but the drivng experience as a package is addictive.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Certainly sounds like you have been unlucky. thats not the norm but bare with it & you should come out the other side a very happy camper :D

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i certainly hope so! Generally it is in awesome condition - everything is clean and tidy - in fact the engine at idle is much much quieter than my 1.6 Zetec CMAX Ford that I use for work! :hihi