BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm hoping some of you can point me in the right direction with regards to making my own website.
For starters, I'm completely new to this to don't be afraid to mention things you think might be fairly obvious :hihi
Ideas for the site are fairly simple, mainly somewhere to share my projects and hopefully give some handy advice like guides, buying tips, what to look for etc.
I registered a couple of domain names with 123reg a while ago just to make sure I had them. The next logical step to me is finding somewhere to host it, this seems to be where there is the most choice and therefore where you can get the best deal if you know what to look for...I don't. Can anyone suggest a good reliable host? What services they normally offer? and what I should look out for?
Next is the design of the actual page, I doubt I'd be able to master HTML but I've heard there are certain pieces of software that allow you to design your site fairly easily and then will convert it into HTML for you? Again, do these normally come in a package when you choose a host or do you have to buy them separately?

Any help much appreciated as I'd like to get started on it :thumbsup

·
Registered
172 Posts
namesco offer pretty good hosting packages - http://www.names.co.uk

if its project based, why not set it up as a blog? there are so many wordpress templates out there that you can still get some individuality out of it?

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you guys! uniQue, thanks for the advice in your PM, I shall be looking into what you said and probably asking lots of stupid questions :)
Btw Mowgs that link doesn't work for some reason.