BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Hello all,

Lots more to come on this, but as I've got a wonky issue and a flatspot with my engine I guessed this might be useful for people. This is a guide to testing most of the sensors on the M52 engine, I've got a E36 323i so that's what this guide is based on but I'm sure a lot of it will cross reference with other similar vehicles; besides most of this is stuff is generic concepts which you'll find across most cars in the car-parc.

Disclaimer: I am a hobbiest at this stuff, I am not an electronics engineer or qualified in any way connected to these items laid out in this guide. It's provided 'as-is' and for entertainment purposes only. Please take advice of a suitably qualified individual before carrying out any tests contained in this guide. No responsibility for any damage that will occur will be taken on my behalf.

These diagrams were drawn to stave insomnia so please point out any errors and I'll happily redraw them! They are provided to illustrate the basic concept only, they are NOT manufacturer schematics so please don't attempt to use them as such!

Glossary
ECU - I'll use the almost generic term 'ECU' but accept this as any computer connected to the engine management, DME, PCM etc are other common phrases.

MAF Sensor
The M.A.F. (Mass Air Flow) sensor is rather an ingenious little piece of kit, it allows the engine to calculate how much air is being drawn in and could be considered one of the cardinal sensors of engine management. This is being slowly superseded by the MAP (Manifold Absolute Pressure) sensor which is a mechanical switch in most modern engine management systems but the MAF is still accurate and reliable generally in use.