BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,newbie here.ok recently bought a e46,320 diesel ,04 plate.key starts car but doesn't work central locking apparently I need a new fob,no signal coming from key,tried charging on toothbrush charger as seen on you tube videos, so I've got a second hand key for a fiver,obviously it ain't going to start the car,but I'd like it to work central locking,I've watched the various videos on how to pair with the car,but I'm worried about doing it as some people have mentioned in the comments that when pairing with car it will work central locking, but then the original key wont start the car,any advice would be greatly appreciated,

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Forgot to say central locking works off key in door lock and also button inside car.

·
Registered
3,026 Posts
Don't be worried about following the videos on resyncing the fob you can't do any harm.
Also have a look for a video on changing the battery in the bmw diamond key not that hard to do if you have a soldering iron.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Don't be worried about following the videos on resyncing the fob you can't do any harm.
Also have a look for a video on changing the battery in the bmw diamond key not that hard to do if you have a soldering iron.
A few days ago I followed the various videos with both my original key which has worked fine for years and with my spare in which I had soldered a new battery. Despite trying the switch on/off and switch on/off five times followed by press unlock + press/release lock three times etc I now have an original key which no longer works apart from manual insertion and starting the car. The additional key doesn't work either. I've tried all variations 20 or 30 times including the "hold over your left shoulder" to get better connection and increase duration of presses etc.