BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
someone please put sense to this, i beg you?!?!

i received a quote through a reputable insurance company for £1520, to be fair this is a very good price so naturally i decided it would be best to use them. i understand the quote given is for paying straight away in one lump sum and as i wished to pay through direct debit over the duration of the insurance i knew id be paying an slightly increased premium to cater for the admin costs and the removal of any so called "discounts".

so i ring up, spend a good 10 minutes going through the details, its all going well everything tallies up. we get to towards the end of the conversation and i explain i wish to pay through direct debit as this would be more convenient seeing as im a student so im not exactly flush with cash this time of year. the very kind man changes the details round, baring in mind there is me expecting say £1700 maybe £1800 tops.....he returns to me with a firgure of £2300!!! i literally went, "oh well that buggers that then." they want more than half of the initial premium on top just because i can't pay the greedy forkers in one lump sum!!! £800!!! i had to end the phone call there and go away and think (shift some money around my accounts so i could pay in one lump sum, thus making my already pretty dismal cash flow just that little bit worse)