BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Tracker Installation E36 – Vehicle Used E36 323i (October 1997 Build)

This guide convers installation of the ‘generic’ TK103A GSM/GPS tracker, although if you purchase a similar one this guide will be helpful I’m sure. I am an electrician, work with a lot of fine electronics and have been doing vehicle wiring for many years so I take a belt and braces approach toward this, if you think I’m being too finicky please use your own judgement and cherrypick precisely what you’d like to do. It’s your car, all said and tolled.

Features of this tracker:
- Full GPS tracking by SMS message with no service subscription, the unit will accept any 2/3G SIM card designed for use in the UK.
- Immobilizer, albeit a very simple one but it might be enough to deter the local kids from having a go.
- Anti-hijack, this is brilliant, you can text a secret word to the car and it actives the immobilizer with the engine running, leaving the scrote in an awkward situation.

Items Required:
- TK103A Generic GSM/GPS Tracker, I purchased mine from amazon.co.uk for £21.99
- A ‘generic’ 2 way automotive fusebox (not required, see further down)
- A SIM card, PAYG is probably the best option as you’ll just need a smidge of credit to text the unit theoretically. This is discussed below too.
Tools:
- A DECENT ratchet crimper tool sutable for automotive type crimp-on terminals.
- Knife, wire strippers, self tapping screws.
- Soldering iron, heatshrink tubing and plenty of good quality insulating tape.
- A multimeter (a basic one is just dandy.)
- Sand paper or a small file
- Small cable ties
- Screwdrivers, sockets, spanners (just a basic selection)
Useful, but not vital:
- Ferrule putteronerer tool (no idea what the proper name is)
- Pop rivets and tool
- Powerdrill, selection of small drill bits, glanding tools, grommets, small hole saws.

A note on tools;