BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

I'm new to BMW ownership and have a 2018 X1 Xdrive with the 8 speed auto box that has quickly started developing problems.

Unfortunately BMW want £8k for a replacement box so am hoping to find advice on garages that could repair the gearbox.

·
Registered
403 Posts
Yes it's aisin and at 4 years old I would be telling BMW it's not fit for purpose. Threaten them with legal if they don't fix for free. Seriously, don't budge on this!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
There is no engine light or warning light.

When slowing down to near crawling speeds the car will suddenly dump the clutch into a gear causing a thud sound and sometimes a violent lurch.

Took the car to BMW and they hooked it up and couldn't find anything wrong. They then took it on a test drive and noticed the problem and then I think hooked it up to a module of some sort.

"Related service solution (printed) GBSEL-SELP24-20000813331985-01

Fault patterns test module on ista for transmission jerking. Test module concludes will require new gearbox"

The dealer initially said they would do something as near warranty period but when they found it was purchased elsewhere they want the full £8k+VAT.

Car has Full BMW service history.

Searching online ive found 2 similar cases both 2018 X1 but they managed to get it repaired under warranty and then 4 minis all 2018 also.

Not sure who I can contact at BMW other than going through dealer network.

·
Registered
381 Posts
Nightmare…
sounds a like it could be valve/megatronics issue. Typical response from bmw just replace the box rather than repair it.
BMW probably say it’s sealed for life as they do with the zf boxes rather than factor in a service schedule.