BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all, this is my first time posting here hope someone can help..

This morning, i turned my car on and it started as usuall, I put my foot down on the acellerator and noticed that there was no power, rev's wouldnt go up.

So i pulled up on the side of the road, and parked it for a while.

turned it off, waited a few minutes and tried turning it on.. it turned on but again no output from the accelerator.

turned it off again, waited another few minutes, then tried firing it up, this time it wouldnt fire at all. The EML light came on.

When i turn the key, the engine cranks over and over, and if i keep the key turned long enough it sounds as though it almost catches but as soon as i let go of the key it dies again.

I've tried all the basics, and even had a RAC (recovery) man have a look and he couldnt work it out either (but wasnt really expecting him too, just needed a tow back home)

I've looked on several posts, and i can see there is some sort of breather pipe that is known to collapse, but i dont know if this is a problem on the n42 engine or m43 (the sites i found all reported m43)

Can anyone point me in the right direction? has anyone experienced this type of thing before?

(it has fuel, the sparks are new, battery has been tested on a voltmeter... definately isnt something common)

oh and by the way its a manual, petrol, 2004 model

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks budy,

actually no, i just googled the mass filter cleaning jobby ... from what i found, if this was the problem id be having a low revs problem? where my motor doesnt fire at all...But seeing as it looks pretty simple and is the closest to the problem i have found, i think i will give that a go tommorow.

Is i worth disconnecting the MAF and then trying again? just to prove it is a MAF problem?