BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi newbie here,

Just bought a 94 e36 325i to replace my 2.0 16v fiesta.

Its a great car but just lacks a bit of power compared to what i had.

I want to tune it slightly without spending alot of money. Ive read that M3 cams can be fitted and give a decent gain. From what i can gather only the intake cam is actually a different profile and i keep seeing US spec cams being used. Can UK M3 cams be used, as they will obviouslly be easier to source? Also does it matter which e36 M3 they come from?

Im thinking with the cams and with the BMC carbon fibre induction kit i had on my fiesta fitted, that it should give me a decent gain in the high revs. Especially if i can get it setup to match. Anyone done this and know what kinda of performance increase i can expect?

Also if there are any other ways to improve perfomance on the cheap please let me know.

·
Platinum BFuk Member
588 Posts
Hi newbie here,

Just bought a 94 e36 325i to replace my 2.0 16v fiesta.

Its a great car but just lacks a bit of power compared to what i had.

I want to tune it slightly without spending alot of money. Ive read that M3 cams can be fitted and give a decent gain. From what i can gather only the intake cam is actually a different profile and i keep seeing US spec cams being used. Can UK M3 cams be used, as they will obviouslly be easier to source? Also does it matter which e36 M3 they come from?

Im thinking with the cams and with the BMC carbon fibre induction kit i had on my fiesta fitted, that it should give me a decent gain in the high revs. Especially if i can get it setup to match. Anyone done this and know what kinda of performance increase i can expect?

Also if there are any other ways to improve perfomance on the cheap please let me know.