BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all

I want to have a go at dritfing my 323i.
have been advised against this as apparently i will knacker the diff.:confused
i have no knowledge about this so some advise or pointers would be great.

·
Registered
2,255 Posts
Make sure you have a limited slipp diff to start with ;)

In addition, you should be fine with the diff, but ensure to change its fluid regularly when you change the engine oil and do the g/box oil at the same time. Our demo 328i with a 'Birds' LSD is just that a demo car. Its runs amazingly sweet and is showing no signs of wear due to being a company demo vehicle for track days and some drift events which my cousin is learning.

·
Registered
2,255 Posts
how will i be able to tell if the car has a LSD?
Go to your local Sainsbury's car park, and do some dougnuts. With an LSD the lock diff will allow you to keep the car spinning without any issues. Without a LSD, the car won't do nice smooth dougnuts.

To the best of my knowledge, if the car is standard, a 323i does not come with a LSD as standard, so you would need to source one.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
this is all new to me

With regard to sourcing a LSD will i be able to get one for my model or would one from a different model fit ie m3?:confused

·
Registered
89 Posts
what about a 318 1993? so if i change the engine oil,gearbox an diff oil regularly then i should be ablt to drift round a carpark? or roundabout lol

·
Registered
2,255 Posts
this is all new to me

With regard to sourcing a LSD will i be able to get one for my model or would one from a different model fit ie m3?:confused
The experts will know what will fit, but i thnk you should be able to fit one from the likes of a E36 BMW 328i Sport (which came with a LSD as standard) if you car is an E36 model.

·
Registered
2,255 Posts