BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

Advice on which model to buy

3K views 26 replies 10 participants last post by  DSK 
#1 ·
Hi lads, I am an audi driver at present, but I am looking longingly at the E46 ci coupes. My current car is an A4 1.8T 163bhp so want more power, and preferably an auto as I am sick of changing gears.....it is a drag I can do without after nearly 30 years of driving.

So the question is - which is the best motor to go for in terms of reliability / problem avoidance?

Choices are 330ci, 330d, 325ci - I want the burble of the six so the 4 pots are out.

Is steptronic the only auto or is there a plain auto? I see some folk think the slushbox is unreliable, but surely it cant be that bad can it?

I would take a manual if I had to as long as the clutch is light and the shift smooth. Im sick of notchy gearchanges - a-la the Audi box. Its crap - and so is the clutch action (way too high bite, and common on all A4's)

So what do you guys recommend in the BMW stable? It will likely be a facelift model since I like the look of the lights better.

Discussion starter · #4 ·
cheers mate, that is appreciated. I am especially interested in ex-audi drivers opinions since its relevent to my situation :)

I am torn between the 330i and 330d, and they are at the top end of my budget but do seem to be the best choice. I think a lot of folk have caught on to the amazing 330d engine and it keeps the prices up, where the 330i seems to be scary to some people and prices are lower. I dont mind a bit of extra road tax and the fuel consumption according to whatcar is about 7mpg better on the diesel model - not as much as I imagined!

Putting that with the high price of diesel, you pay £1 more per gallon for diesel, and only get 7 more miles, then it doesnt seem that good a deal - but probably the diesel motor wont dip too far down when getting a bit of a caning where the 330i could probably hit single digits lol

Discussion starter · #11 ·