BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, im a noob here and iv got a 318i se reg 99. Its my 1st bmw and 2nd car overal,had a s reg bog standard corsa before so u can understand the upgrade lmao this brings me to my question as im not familier with abs and asc as my corsa didnt have anything like that.in the snow is the car not meant to stop when i brake? I found myslf having to pul the handbrake nearing give ways n the car wouldnt stil come to a halt, and i was doin 10mph max.sorry to make it long and any feedback would be appreciated.
-Shaggy

·
Registered
233 Posts
if your brakes are not stopping you and your having to use the hand brake i suggest you stop driving immediatly and to tow your car to a garage and I dont mean with a rope, either by your local garage or a proper towing vehicle,

If its just a case of your car skidding then I would suggest you maybe check your tyres as doing 10mph you should stop in snow. Also if your going through thick snow your brakes might be getting wet and there is no friction between the pad and disk, so I would get out of the snow and apply your brake slowly to disperse the moisture

Also the Abs/ASC is designed to stop your wheels individually, someone else will explain better but it applies the brake basiclly so no it wouldnt not let you brake but would do the opposite and brake for you for instances when your skidding.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I dont think its because of moisture because when i try to apply the brakes while drivimg over snow,theirs something previnting me from pressing the pedal down. Thx for your response tho

·
Platinum BFuk Member
356 Posts
are you braking with the clutch pressed in - if so the ABS will probaly kick in as the wheels will try to lock when braking with the clutch in due to the engine being disengaged from the wheels.

When the ABS kicks in it does feel like something is pushing back on the pedal.