BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
right i'm a newb so be gentle!!! I've searched the forum for the answer to this q but i cant seem to find it....i've also searched the net but i'm getting conflicting answers, can someone in the know point me in the right direction.

1) i have just bought a 99 323i Sport Touring.....yay!!!!
It's still with the dealer whilst they correct a few things, but one thing that bugged me was the lack of a cd changer. Now i believe that the car is pre-wired................am i wrong?
2) the headunit is the standard business rds and tape unit. before i can choose to rip it out i need to know:
a) who makes the head units? (i've so far found phillips, alpine & blaupunkt?!?!?!) as it may be cheaper and easier to just buy a compatible changer
b) what are peoples opinions on this?

I dont really want to go overboard but could someone reccomend a inline store they have found to offer good prices? I only want to spend a couple of hundred max?

cheers guys, much appreciated

:)

·
Bimmerforums Central
8,030 Posts
Hi all,
right i'm a newb so be gentle!!! I've searched the forum for the answer to this q but i cant seem to find it....i've also searched the net but i'm getting conflicting answers, can someone in the know point me in the right direction.

1) i have just bought a 99 323i Sport Touring.....yay!!!!
It's still with the dealer whilst they correct a few things, but one thing that bugged me was the lack of a cd changer. Now i believe that the car is pre-wired................am i wrong?
2) the headunit is the standard business rds and tape unit. before i can choose to rip it out i need to know:
a) who makes the head units? (i've so far found phillips, alpine & blaupunkt?!?!?!) as it may be cheaper and easier to just buy a compatible changer
b) what are peoples opinions on this?