BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Hi guys,

This is my first year driving a BMW in the snow and I just got a bit of a fright in a hire car I'm currently using (a 2010 118d Sport) - my usual car is a 2006 320d Saloon but I'm guessing the issue I'm going to describe applies equally.

As many will have experienced - its a bit snowy and icy at the moment so I was taking it easy on the way home tonight. Straight road - dual carriage way - most of the cars were doing about 35mph. I was probably doing about 30 as it was the first time I'd driven a BWM in the snow and it wasn't my car so I was being extra cautious.

Anywho - driving along this perfectly straight road and the back end starts to slide out. This is with no steering applied, no breaks and minimal throttle. My arse starts to go a little - but I manage to guide the car back onto the straight. A few seconds later, the same thing happens - only a bit worse and I end up in the right hand lane very briefly. Had a car been overtaking at that moment - we could have had a problem.

So I end up driving the rest of the way home even slower than I was going before -which I know must have been pissing people off because they were all overtaking me and seemed to be perfectly capable of driving a good 10 - 20mph faster than I was without any hesitation whatsoever. I could tell that if I tried that it would not have ended well at all.

As I say - I haven't been driving all that long and have never driven a BMW in icy conditions before - but if thats the way the car handles - I literally couldn't use it in the snow - it would literally be like playing russian roulette.

Can anyone answer the following for me: