BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a distraught newbie.

My big bad beautiful 2004 E60 530i sports is playing up. The I-Drive is dead and the PDC does not function - also the aftermarket bluetooth phone has gone itermittent ..... wierd.

Can anyone help me with any simple fixes today that I can try before the main agent takes all my holiday fund tomorrow!

I's like to check the fuses but who knows where they are ???

·
Premium Member
4,132 Posts
Have added your car details to your thread title to adhere to forum rules...:thumbsup

Hopefully someone will come to your rescue quick :)

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
havn't had any reason to look just yet, but 2 locations usually

1. above the glovebox, with 2 captive screws
2. right hand side of the boot wall behind a peice of trim

Reactions: MazTheFixer

·
Banned
1,871 Posts
Battery!! Quick and easy one to test. All later model i-drives are very vulnerable to low current.....the cold weather has seen the death of many batteries. If you have the original in the car, it's almost certain to have died!

Even if the car starts........

A fuse check is also easy, but unlikely to have blown them all!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks, I found the the list of the fuses on the back of the tool/first aid box compartment and located the relevant fuses in the luggage compartment (on RHS). All the fuses I checked are 100% ok.

I would be genuinely surprised if the Battery needs to be replaced, it has never shown any signs of weakness in the past. However I do understand that if my battery is weak, the systems that are less Vital are programmed to shut off to ensure that there is enough juice to keep the car running.

Thank you all for your helpful advice.

Looks like I am going to have to raid the Holiday Money tin tommorw morning after all!

·
Registered
6,636 Posts
The i-drives do throw wobblies.

As others have said, battery first.