BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok probably need flamesuit but here goes..........

I am new to the BMW scene, so just to give you a bit of background so you can see where I am coming from.

I had an 02 STi UK impreza which I kept for 3 and a half years, and had 2 imprezas before that.

I had been tuning that car for 3 years quite happily and am no newbie to tuning that car, including developing a mafless system, launch control enabled, and mild anti lag systems to boot, similar to the group n roms that are available for the jap versions of the cars from p'drive.

Really enjoyed it, learnt alot, keen to continue!

So, I had to get rid recently as my job has changed and need to do more miles.

Invested in a low mileage 320d (150bhp) late 2004 BMW (e46). Now I would like to have a look at the maps and extend my knowledge over to my own 320d. But, I am drawing a blank as to which cable and software to use. I am not entirely sure what actually works with that model, nor am I sure which ecu it has.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Which cable will do it? (KWP2000+, Galleto or another?), software? (i used to use ecuflash romraider amongst others).

I dont plan on doing any one elses and always refused to on subaru's, basically I will take the risk for myself, but not extend that to other peoples motors!

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

PS I know I could get it done for me, but thats not the point, I want to learn even more by exploring my map and seeing where the improvements can be done.

Cheers:D

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
E46 320d 150bhp 2004

Sorry forgot to list make model etc in thread title.

Noted!

and will do in future :thumbsup :duh

·
Registered
8,981 Posts
Your ECU will be a DDE5, also known by everyone else as EDC16.