BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my car is reporting 'increased emissions' Ive also noticed that its slightly misfiring and when i opened the bonnet there was a strange smell.
I dont know if its related but it started after putting in diesel from a large supermarket. I usually go to esso or a total garage.

Im reluctant to drive it as i do have a customer protect warrenty having recently purchased the car from a local dealer ( nov 11)

A friend ran a diagnostic and it returned P3263 & P1278. Im not very technical when it comes to cars and have read a variety of advice with people mentioning diferent possible causes.

I wondered whether anyone has experienced these codes and can provide any assistance as to the cause.

Look forward to your replies

·
Registered
4,209 Posts
They are related to the lambda sensor, I wonder if their fuel was contaminated?

Or it could a red herring for a MAP or MAF sensor issue or a air leak some where, the car is trying to over fuel and the lambda sensor is either reporting a fault or reproting excess O2 in the exhaust

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
seems to be the fuel injector which is causing the problem. They plugged in a reader and cylinder 3 is giving very high readings, looks like an air mass fault and smooth controller fault. Cars booked in for a weeks time to change the fuel injector, lets hope it resolves the problem..

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
fuel injector has been changed, the problem continues. whats strange is the high reading keeps on jumping between cyclinders. They've done a compression test and a cylinder test and finding no faults. They now think its a electrical fault, or possible a fault with the cpu.

I hope not, i wonder if its just a fault in the fuel injector harness ( someone mentioned this to me)

·
Registered
124 Posts