BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. i'm new to bimmerforums.
just cleaned out my crankcase filter, didn't seem to bad 2004 e60 38,ooo.
following reading a very good link on her.(include photos) its not a easy job lots of 5mm bolts to undo and you have to remove the air filter top cover too. be very carefull of the wire to the injectors, just removed 2 male torq srews special tool needed to move wiring harness.
any ideas weather my car has swirl flaps or nor are thgey a serious problem ?

·
Bimmerforums Central
8,030 Posts
Hi everyone. i'm new to bimmerforums.
just cleaned out my crankcase filter, didn't seem to bad 2004 e60 38,ooo.
following reading a very good link on her.(include photos) its not a easy job lots of 5mm bolts to undo and you have to remove the air filter top cover too. be very carefull of the wire to the injectors, just removed 2 male torq srews special tool needed to move wiring harness.
any ideas weather my car has swirl flaps or nor are thgey a serious problem ?
Hi Paul

I moved this to the E60 5 series tech section where it needs to be .

I think the Swirl Flaps and Turbo failure was cured for 2004 models of 320D,330D and 520D and 530D

so you may be in luck...

it may still have swirl flaps....but they are redesigned NOT to break off so I have been told...

·
Registered
46 Posts
I've got an E60 530D, built in July 2004, and I "had" the upgraded 4.5 mm flaps (as opposed to the 4.0 mm flaps). I took the manifold off to have a look, but then decided I didn't want to be one of the first of the upgraded flappers to have one swallowed, so I went ahead and removed them. (There's actually a thread going on another forum mentioning an E60 with an upgraded flap giving way, so it's not looking too good for them either). I haven't noticed any difference in power or consumption since I removed them either.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
swirl flaps e60