BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Hi Folks,
I'm new to BMW owenership having just bought a 2003 E39 530d Sport with an Auto Box. I love the car except for one thing - the auto box. I've no previous experience of BMW autos so I'm not sure if this box is behaving normally or if there's something wrong. The problem I'm finding is that there seems to be an excessive amount of slippage when accelerating before the torque convertor locks up and gives "solid" drive to the wheels. A similar problem exists on deceleration in that once the revs drop to about 2000rpm then all engine braking is lost and the car goes into "freewheel" mode and the revs drop to idle speed. The strange thing is that this behaviour also exists in steptronic mode where I would have expected it to lock into the particular chosen gear and remain solid regardless of acceleration or deceleration. The reason that I find this behaviour so strange is because I also have a 2002 Audi S8 with an auto box and in tiptronic mode it locks into the ratio almost immediately when accelerating and holds it on deceleration right down to 1000rpm. Can someone please advise me if this is normal or if there's something wrong with the 'box? If this is normal does anyone know if there's a remap available that will correct this problem? Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
540 Posts
The BMW box is adaptive which means it adapts to the style of the driver.

Could also be low on gearbox oil, maybe worth getting the codes read and cleared to see if anything is wrong and once cleared may solve the problem.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Mike, I'm getting the oil and filter changed next week and I'll see what happens after that. Do you need to go to a main dealer to get the gearbox codes read?

·
Bfuk Legend
5,675 Posts