BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello every one, im new to the fourm and i hope to meet and help as much as i hope you can help me.

i been offered a 320d 2002 plate,manual, 108k millage, but all ive been told about it is the turbo is died and needs a new one.

its 160miles each way to go see it & im not too clued up with diesel engines, ive searched this forum as much as i possible to find it could be many of things.

im quite mechanical minded and used to tuning skylines.

but from what ive read on here about the 320d set up its a whole new ball game.

im going too ring the lad back tomorrow too ask him how he knows its the turbo, im used to the symptom of no boost and loads of blue smoke is suspect turbo failure, is it the same case with the 320d?

what should i ask the person to diagnois the actual problem?

what type of cost am i looking at too repair it? (best to worst case)

ive read a few posts were theres be engine damage due to the turbo how can i check this before i buy it?

is there a way i can get the person to check before i drive all the way down too him?

i apologize for all the question but as you would expect i want too know what im letting my self in for before i commit.

hope some one could help me out.
thank you in advance.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hi ive spent the last 2hrs reading up on threads.

can any one tell me if it is possible too check the swirl flaps are still in place with out removing the inlet manifold?
If not how long does it take too remove the inlet manifold? is it a 20min job or more of a couple of hours?

also how easy and quick can i get the inlet of the turbo to check if the turbine for play?

also what should i look for engine wise to diagnose the flap as gone in and damaged any think?