BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am posting this for a friend, he has been having this problem for a while. When the problem occurs the engine just cuts out, Has taken to BMW and indie but as no faults showing on car have been told nothing wrong. Can anybody help him out. thanks

·
Registered
10 Posts
Hi all, I'm new to this particular forum and am wondering if anyone can assist with this new problem I'm experiencing. I have an Alpina D10 biturbo (diesel) and have owned it since 2007, it's a fantastic and rare car. This afternoon whilst starting to accelerate quite hard up an incline (but foot 'not' to the floor) the engine just cut out - never happened before. I coasted to a halt, turned the key and it fired up, thereafter, it cut out a couple more times further down the road (I stopped and it re-fired). Every time it was the same scenario, i.e starting to accelerate hard. In fact it seemed that just before it got to the cutting out point the engine started to feel as if it was 'just' starting to misfire, like it felt a bit wooley. I'm suspecting (rightly or wrongly) that it could be something to do with the turbochargers - like an overboost protection, as it seems to cut dead just when the torque starts to kick in and the turbo's are really starting to spool up. Could it be this, does it have some overboost protection device? or could it be something else and a lot simpler, does anybody have some experience with this sort of fault and can they advise me. Thanks a lot. Dale :thumbsup

·
Registered
479 Posts