BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody know if this conversion has been done before? I've got the opportunity to carry out an engine conversion, and this would be my preferred engine.

Anybody know of what would be involved other than custom engine mounts? Would anything in the engine bay need relocating?

·
Registered
470 Posts
Er excuse my ignorance but does not a RB26DETT belong to a Nissan Skyline? - and not only that is the 2.6 twin turbo engine version you have there which is the one fitted to the GTR model. As you would have to declare this to the insurance company will you not be better off buying a Skyline? That is a race bred engine therefore I do not think that a 1.8 model running gear will be able to cope with the power anyway, gearbox would probably give way first and diff soon after. But then i am no expert.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Lol you're quite right it is a skyline engine. I would imagine the gearbox would blow immediately so would need to be replaced with the engine.

The reason I want to put it in to a 318 shell is because I want a street sleeper, if you roll up in an R34 of course everyone knows what engine you're running. I want to do something different rather than an M3 engine etc.

Yes, I'd have to declare it to the insurance company, as if I do have a crash i'm going to have a hard time explaining why there is a 2.6 lump under the bonnet.

I understand it's a big ask, but merely was wondering if anyone has tried it?

·
Registered
470 Posts