BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

My real name is Ross and i have been driving my first BMW for the past 6 months and its been great... Managed to find a 2000 w reg 318Ci with 60k on the clock with the sports pack on it in steel blue, so im chuffed that ive got a nice looking car with goodish MPG. this is all great but....

i have now found what i think could be a problem with the engine....

firstly the dipstick has got a bown/creamy residue on it.. not lots but there is a little blob on the top of the measuring part of it... the cars needs an oil seervice in 1000 miles so could it just be 'crap' in it?

secondly, when i an slowing down (15mph - stop) and say shift into second, not excelerating at all, the MPG dial goes up to 30 holds there for about a second and then returns to above 50?!? this has jst started happenign over the past few days.

any ideas what this could be guys??? having just hit a badger and 1K's worth of front end damage fixed from it, im really not in a position to be spending much more money..

cheers for any help..

·
Premium Member
3,447 Posts
Hi Ross

From experience I wouldn't worry too much about the residue on the dipstick, I'd just recommend getting an oil service done before that 1000 miles are up to be on the safe side.

As for the MPG dial, I wouldn't worry about that, mine goes up and down whilst driving its all dependent on speed, clutch, brake, accelerator etc mine for example goes off the scale when I take my foot off the accelerator, I don't think you need to worry about it if you're still getting a good mpg anyway :thumbsup

·
Registered
5,469 Posts
as said.the gunk on the dipstick may not be anything to worry about.
if the car has been used for a few short journeys the engine wont have got hot enough to evaporate any condensation inside,and that emulsifies into the oil.