BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I had my car a few days now and running fine. Yesterday the orange engine light came on (annoying) I know there isn’t much I can do until I have it checked out. Because im new to BMW’s is this a fairly common fault and easily fixed in most cases?

Bit of background, prior to me buying it, it had been stood for 9 months, and the fuel I was told was over a year old.(had about ¾ of a tank) I drove it back from Kent to Bristol with no hiccups and still had a ¼ tank of fuel left, I did top it up with a fivers worth just before the light came on. Can fuel go bad after a while.

Im just creating a shopping list of service items such as fuel, air, oil filters, and new plugs as its due a service anyway.

I am borrowing a OBD tool from my mechanic friend at lunch time so im hoping this will point me in the right direction.

Other info: runs fine, no loss of power or idle problems etc, 104k on clock. 2000 model 318 ci

cheers

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Just read the codes, got:

- P0170 fuel trim bank
- P0300 random/multiple engine missfire

ive cleared the codes for now, i was advised to change the plugs which i was going to do anyway, anf give the throttle body/MAF a clean

what do people think?

·
Registered
740 Posts
misfire could be a timing issue but might be crappy plugs as well...get the servce done and give her a good spin...check again for codes etc...if nothing shows your probably good...

·
Registered
229 Posts
here is some useful info on code p0300

A code P0300 may mean that one or more of the following has happened:

•Faulty spark plugs or wires
•Faulty coil (pack)
•Faulty oxygen sensor(s)
•Faulty fuel injector(s)
•Burned exhaust valve
•Faulty catalytic converter(s)
•Stuck/blocked EGR valve / passages
•Faulty camshaft position sensor
•Defective computer