BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.

i just wanted to know how to get involved in drifting. I have never done this before and wish to take part.

What do i need (apart from a rear wheel drive car)
Does the car need to be modified (roll cage etc), can it be a standard car?
How the hell do you drift, can i learn when at an event???
does it cost anything???

Thank you :thumbsup

·
Uber Platinum BFuk Member
1,133 Posts
you can drift pretty much any RWD car mate. Can be standard, but a car with a locked diff will be easier to control. Do not attempt it on roads. Go to the pod as they have there own drift days up there and i think they teach you there aswell.

·
Registered
17 Posts
lol at the roundabout thing. i dun it once on a sunny sunday afternoon bad idea cars decided to turn up while the roundabout was covered in smoke. but santa pod is meant to b good and they have tutors there aswell. i was meant to be going with a group of mates but i unfortunately wrote my car off. not being stuip either got caught out by ice.

·
BFuk Legend
11,712 Posts
Get a second hand diff and get it welded for the drift day and a cheap set of coilovers, trying on an open diff with a 318is will be very hard work. A 318is with a welded diff will be fine, but you will have to push the engine quite hard.
Standard shocks will take a battering and are too soft, the car needs to be hard as rocks to break traction easy.

Get yourself booked on a drift day at Santa Pod, its not as easy as people make out. You hear a lot of bullshit on these forums about people with there BMW's thinking they are drift gods. Do it there as its safe and controlled. Dont even bother on the road because they are not big enough and the car will bite you on the arse. I have just about got the knack of it after months of trying. The first day it took me the whole day to master how to do a figure of 8...:shifty: