BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got a 1998 E36 316i saloon and it has 3 minor problems that need fixing.

1. Central Locking is not working on the rear drivers side door.

2. One of the headlights is full of condensation on the inside of the glass.

3. The clock doesn't work.

Any hints or tips greatly appreciated, as I'm new to BMW's - this is our first one and not sure where to start with it.

:thumbsup

·
Legendary BFuk Member
12,959 Posts
Foggy headlights are a common problem and there is a number of threads on the forum discussing this:thumbsup

Central locking, check for broken wires where the loom passes from the vehicle to the bootlid as these are prone to breaking and causing exposed wires to touch and cause electrical upsets within the vehicle. Once checked, move your attention to the actuator on that particular door:thumbsup

As for the clock, check all fuses in the fuse box and then check the connections on the back of the clock. Check for power to the clock:thumbsup

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I just discovered tonight that the bulbs have gone behind the heater controls too, as I hadn't driven it since we got it, so thats another job to do !!. Is there a how too guide on this ?. Spent ages trying to search and looking through the various sections but can't find anything about how to change the dash light bulbs !!!.

Cheers for the tips btw.

The clock is a bit of a weird one, as it does work sometimes. It stops for ages, then just starts working again. I've not paid it enough attention yet (first time I've been allowed near it today) to work out how long it is stopping and starting for.

:)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just realied today after trying to have a tinker with the car to do some of the jobs, that it is actually a 318i !!. Doh !!.