BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hi, forum newbie here :) I'm wondering if anyone has any advice on a long-term solution to my rusty rear arches? The rest of the car is in excellent condition, it's a 1997 328i Convertible which I've owned for about 6yrs. A couple of years ago I noticed some small bubbles of rust coming through on the rear arches. It turns out that the design of the rear arch lip collects a phenomenal amount of wet mud off the country roads I use. I had the rust proffessionally treated (lead loaded) twice in the last 2yrs and it's just beginning go come through again! :( Is there an aftermarket wheel liner (as per front end) I can buy anywhere to stop mud building up inside the wheel arches? They seem to fill up with mud within the space of a week, and it's not as if I'm off-roading! Would I be better off buying entire new rear wings and having them galvanised or something? Is that even feasable?

Any help appreciated!

·
Registered
8,981 Posts
There are arch repair kits available, although they were planned for the saloon I think

http://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum/f17/1997-e36-318i-wheres-best-cheapest-for-arch-t46694/

Once done, I would paint the inside with a good few coats of bituminous paint -
http://www.toolstation.com/shop/p88792

And then maybe some stonechip after. Bituminous paint is thin tar, which always stays a little tacky, and it's cheap too, so it'll flex and can ever reseal itself. The stonechip paint is similar but with more wax added, so it acts as a shock absorbing coating for the road debris.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! :) I'll see if I can find out if they fit the convertible. I'm surprised the rust is coming through again as I did give the insides of the arches a good few coats of Waxoil last time they were repaired.

·
Registered
250 Posts