BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
View attachment 20696 hi to everyone here,
im new to the whole scene (beemas/forums) i have just purchased my very first bmw its a 97 318is coupe....i was told when buying it that it was a 318is m sport :confused is there such a thing or was this a clever sales pitch :confused
the car has 100,000k on the clock with fbmwsh i paid a princley sum of £700 for it, not quite sure if this is good money or not ?
anyway i had the rear tyres changed this weekend and have been told that the passenger rear spring has snapped :mad ..the guy told me i can get away with just changing the one side ! but surely common sense would suggest the pair need replacing ?? please advise. i have also had other issues with remote locking/alarm but with a wee bit of gusto i have managed to sort this on my own :thumbsup
heres a pic of the old girl !!!

p.s sorry if i have done things back to front but like i say im a noob in all aspects.

·
Registered
528 Posts
Best to replace both! but the good news is that its pretty easy! wheel off, jack it up, unbolt the damper from the hub, get a bar or a friend to push down on the spring carrier then just remove the spring, slot the new one in, bolt the damper back on and the jobs a goo 'un!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
jees you guys are like lightning !!
cheers for the warm welcome
im guna tackle the springs tonight after a large drambuie shandy, got the perfect m8 to help me he is normally a useless excuse for a human but he weighs around 21st so im guessing i wont need a pry bar other than to get his arse out of the chair !!
if i dont remove my face with a stray spring i will pop back tomorrow with an update.
once again cheers for the welcome!!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
ITS DONE !!!