BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,011 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon all!

I am looking to taking all my door trim off but what is the best of doing it as I now have myself some M-Tech door Mouldings...

Now which bits do I need as some are broken... and I have never done this before...

Many Thanks!!

Damien

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
alright Damien...

I've done this on my Touring... what is the main concern? How to get them off or what parts are likely to break??

I was lucky enough to buy a set of M Trims that were complete including the clips with little rubber boots.... What parts are broken?

Before - note the trim removal tool by the front wheel...

After - muccccch nicer! :)

the old ones can be carefully prised off the car, taking car to minimise any damage the paint, use a cloth of some kind if you need to lever off the body... I had a trim removal tool (8 quid from Screwfix) and this was really useful. There are trim pliers that you can buy but they are pretty pricey and I havent found a set yet... :( use a constant slow pressure when pulling on them and they will come out.. some of the plastic clips are likely to break as they get brittle when they get older... Ideally do it whilst its a little warmer and this may help minimise the number of clips that break...

I've just bought a set for the 'Vert so will be doing this again soon! Shout if I can help at all..

·
Registered
719 Posts
they should just pull off,
on the door start from the back and work forward poping out the clips.
and for the front and rear sections start also nearest the door and work towards the bumpers.
on your diagram number 12 will be right at the end, you dont have too pull this one out as you should be able to slide the trim off it.

·
Registered
2,011 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
alright Damien...

I've done this on my Touring... what is the main concern? How to get them off or what parts are likely to break??