BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all,

i am very new to bmw's, and mine is now very poorly on my drive...
it was over-heating, and eventually stopped, whilst over-heating it was "blowing" the bleed screw out of the rad, and the water pipes off the front of the engine, now there is water in the spark plugs, and when we can get it started, it is still building pressure in the water system, there has never been heat inside the car, and is now blowing out water from the exhaust, also emmiting a lovely thick white smoke/steam from the exhaust too!!
so now for the strange bit....what wrong?? head gasket?? helllpp!!
i want to get it running again, and am not sure if i have the abilities to do it, would anyone be willing/able to do it (obviously not free!! lol)
please help....i am not sure what engine is in it!! and have tried everywhere to get a manual, but all i keep getting told is that the manual does not cover the "compact" version!!! lol

many thanks

connie xx :confused

·
BFuk Legend
11,712 Posts
Really sorry to tell you this but it is a classic sign of a cracked cylinder head.
I got hold of one last summer with the same fault.
Cheapest way to fix is put in a second hand engine. Its easier to do that than put a second hand head on it :frown

·
Registered
20,393 Posts
Very much sounds like a serious headgasket failure or cracked head. If you never have had heat then that was your first sign of problems, especially if you hadn't checked the water level.

The engine in your car is a M43 engine. A Bentley or Haynes manual covers the M43 engine, take no notice of the Compact not covered, the m43 was fitted in loads of body styles of the e36.

Give this a go http://www.mikerophonerecords.com/bimmer/

·
Registered
1 Posts
E36 316i m43 over heating

Hi,