BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys i have 2 problems 1 is irritating and 1 is slightly worrying me
i am fairly new to BMW's and to D.I.Y on cars so sorry for bad explanations...
problem 1 (irritating) when i brake there is a scratching noise which is intermittent. (only when braking though) it sounds like it is coming from rear driver side. i changed all the brake pads and discs around the car but still problem there? any ideas

prblem 2(worrying) i did a service on the car myself last week oil, oil filter, and spark plugs. however on taking the spark plugs out there was a slight coating of oil on them. my friend who is a mechanic said it is normal as when pulling the plugs out they get dragged through a bit of oil.. however i dont trust his judgement much as i have always been t old oil on plugs is bad?? is he right or wrong is it normal? it wasnt alot was just a slight coating.

FYI car was running smooth before service like a purring kitten and it still sounds like it after the service. anything to worry about?

·
Banned
4,013 Posts
What do you mean by slight coating ?

Is it the part thats inside the cylinder, or the white ceramic on the outside of the cylinder ?

·
Registered
701 Posts
ok the pads could be just bedding in i get a feeling from mine as if there grinding but there not and it clears after a few mile. if they stop you fine just keep and eye on them for a few mile see if they get better.