BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have just got hold of an L Reg E36 316i that is having similar problems. From different people i hear so many different things so i just ended up taking to a garage where they plugged it in to a computer which told them the 'o2 sensor' and ....... what ever the air filter goes on to (told u i was a novice!) He took out a spark plug and it was black too telling he it was running too rich an it was these two things causing it to run lumpy and fluctuate when idle. :eek Also the Catalytic Converter is on it way out too (the list really goes on!!!!)

This is the question, he told me that the engine was not a new one but an old version so as hard as i am looking for these parts second hand (Too expensive Brand new) i cant find them for my 316i 1600cc model. 318's apper to be every where tho!

???Would the parts i am looking for from a late E30 be compatabe with my early 316i???

If not, where (if any where) can i get hold of them???

Many Thanks in Advance,

sorry for the essay legenth post!:)

·
Registered
401 Posts
with a bit of research you will find all the parts you need, if you write up a list of what you need and post up im sure a few of the members(me included) will have a scout about for you to try and find what you need.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I just came across a bmw 318i e36 complete exhaust system from a 1996 touring. Would this be compatable with my 1994 316i saloon??

·
Registered
49 Posts
Hi there, i wouldnt go buying used lambda sensors, Ive been there and done that and had to buy a new one in the end anyhow,

At my place of work we distribute NGK (albeit prodominately motorcycle spares) but ive bought a lambda and plugs from there, the plugs were a stock item but the sensor took about 8 working days.