BMW Forums : BimmerForums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have recently brought my car and only had to use the rear demister the other day, the switch lights up to say its on BUT nothing happens window stays steamed up. Any help with this would be great......

Thanks

·
Platinum BFuk Member
166 Posts
If im right, there are two connectors on the rear screen normally (can someone confirm;) ), one will be an earth and one will be a 12v supply, make sure you have a good earth and also check you have 12v with a voltmeter or circuit tester, both can be bought from a good motor factors.

Also check each individual heating element strip on the rear screen and make sure none are broken.

Im new to bmw's aswell but these are the checks i would usally do, oh and also check the fuse!!!

Hope this helps, let me know if you need an explanation on how to check the earth and power(12v).

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If im right, there are two connectors on the rear screen normally (can someone confirm;) ), one will be an earth and one will be a 12v supply, make sure you have a good earth and also check you have 12v with a voltmeter or circuit tester, both can be bought from a good motor factors.

Also check each individual heating element strip on the rear screen and make sure none are broken.

Im new to bmw's aswell but these are the checks i would usally do, oh and also check the fuse!!!

Hope this helps, let me know if you need an explanation on how to check the earth and power(12v).
Help on how to do this would be great

·
Platinum BFuk Member
166 Posts
Like i said, there should be two connectors on the rear screen usually one on each side about half way down ( they may be hidden behind some trim) and they should be a single flat spade connector, buy a multimeter from a motor factors, nothing special, should set you back a tenner or so.