watson 25 amp power supply for 320d e46?

Notices
 

Thread: watson 25 amp power supply for 320d e46?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. watson 25 amp power supply for 320d e46? 
    #1
    Moderator
    Car Details
    edber's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 520D LCI
    Year of Manufacture:
    2007
    Transmission Type:
    AUTOMATIC
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    edber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5,044
    Images
    6
    Thanks
    643
    Thanked 705 Times in 662 Posts
    hi guys,is a watson 25 amp power supply good enough for programming and coding a 2001 320d e46?
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    Moderator
    Car Details
    matthew_henson's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E61 525d Touring
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Touring/Estate
    matthew_henson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Forest Of Dean
    Posts
    4,210
    Thanks
    904
    Thanked 1,412 Times in 1,223 Posts
    What do you want to program and code? I think I am being thick but what do you need the power supply for?
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    Moderator
    Car Details
    edber's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 520D LCI
    Year of Manufacture:
    2007
    Transmission Type:
    AUTOMATIC
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    edber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5,044
    Images
    6
    Thanks
    643
    Thanked 705 Times in 662 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by matthew_henson View Post
    What do you want to program and code? I think I am being thick but what do you need the power supply for?
    hi matt,my light switch module is out of a different car and its causing the tamper dot,so in order to use sss progman i need a power supply connected up to the car.google and you will see what i mean.
     
     

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to edber For This Useful Post:

    matthew_henson (14-03-2012)

  6. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  7.  
    #4
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    joylove's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    cabrio

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,500
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked 467 Times in 367 Posts
    If it can genuinely do 14V/25A at the same time it should be fine.

    EDIT: So long as the vehicle battery is already charged. If you are charging and coding at the same time that would be an issue.
     
     

  8.  
    #5
    Moderator
    Car Details
    matthew_henson's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E61 525d Touring
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Touring/Estate
    matthew_henson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Forest Of Dean
    Posts
    4,210
    Thanks
    904
    Thanked 1,412 Times in 1,223 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by edber View Post
    hi matt,my light switch module is out of a different car and its causing the tamper dot,so in order to use sss progman i need a power supply connected up to the car.google and you will see what i mean.
    Now I understand! A switch mode power supply should keep the voltage quite flat as you draw more current but as the OP says check the spec, voltage does drop off as you take a power supply to max current
     
     

  9.  
    #6
    Moderator
    Car Details
    edber's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 520D LCI
    Year of Manufacture:
    2007
    Transmission Type:
    AUTOMATIC
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    edber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5,044
    Images
    6
    Thanks
    643
    Thanked 705 Times in 662 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joylove View Post
    If it can genuinely do 14V/25A at the same time it should be fine.

    EDIT: So long as the vehicle battery is already charged. If you are charging and coding at the same time that would be an issue.
    hi joylove,it can do 0 to 15 volts[ and i have verified this with a multimeter] and can do 20 amps at 50% duty cycle and 25 amps peak.and no my battery is not fully charged,thinking of getting a new one anyway.i just need to code the light switch and i presume it wont take long anyway.i use inpa to clear any faults.
     
     

  10.  
    #7
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    joylove's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    cabrio

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,500
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked 467 Times in 367 Posts
    TBH I don't know what the ECUs can draw, I know an extended session can flatten the battery in 45 minutes. I would charge the vehicle battery overnight, then run the coding with the bench PSU on it.
     
     

  11.  
    #8
    Moderator
    Car Details
    edber's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 520D LCI
    Year of Manufacture:
    2007
    Transmission Type:
    AUTOMATIC
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    edber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5,044
    Images
    6
    Thanks
    643
    Thanked 705 Times in 662 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joylove View Post
    TBH I don't know what the ECUs can draw, I know an extended session can flatten the battery in 45 minutes. I would charge the vehicle battery overnight, then run the coding with the bench PSU on it.
    dont i know it!!!i was playing with progman when i got it first and was in the car for a couple of hours with the ignition on and when i tried car woudnt start,i nearly got a dose of the vomits as i thought i had messed up the ecu.but my battry has only got about 11 volts in it anyway.
     
     

  12.  
    #9
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    joylove's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    cabrio

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,500
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked 467 Times in 367 Posts
    Is there a problem with charging the battery before you start? It can take a good hours' drive to do so.
     
     

  13.  
    #10
    Moderator
    Car Details
    edber's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E60 520D LCI
    Year of Manufacture:
    2007
    Transmission Type:
    AUTOMATIC
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    edber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5,044
    Images
    6
    Thanks
    643
    Thanked 705 Times in 662 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joylove View Post
    Is there a problem with charging the battery before you start? It can take a good hours' drive to do so.
    i had driven for 15 to 20 minutes prior to starting progman and progman was looking for me to hook up power supply,its a pity that progman doesnt tell you sooner that it needs more voltage,it takes ages to load and get to the point where it tells you that you dont have sufficiant voltage.
     
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts