inpa/dis

Notices
 

Thread: inpa/dis

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. inpa/dis 
    #1
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    greenman1969's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    318 ci se
    Year of Manufacture:
    2002
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    north east uk
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    hi again....
    could anyone shed a bit light on the difference between INPA and DIS...
    which is better???
    cheers
    G!
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    greenman1969's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    318 ci se
    Year of Manufacture:
    2002
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    north east uk
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    just want sum advice as i have already inpa installed on my laptop and have a connection with the car...i have a video giving instructions on how to install dis and gt1...is it worth going to all the trouble installing these or are they superior software???? any comments apprechiated
    cheers
    G..
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    xXxStKxXx's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1993
    Transmission Type:
    man
    Car Body Type:
    saloon

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    North London
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4,432
    Thanked 6,073 Times in 4,855 Posts
    I think that DIS & SSS is superior to INPA...I have not used INPA though and I have only just got DIS & SSS......I think you need both DIS & SSS together though
     
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6.  
    #4
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,953
    Thanks
    2,146
    Thanked 2,252 Times in 1,722 Posts
    I wouldn't bother installing DIS. It's just a different front end to the same thing and is difficult to install. It's what was used in dealerships and takes a more menu driven approach to form a test plan where with Inpa it's much quicker to use and you just read the error codes of the module you want.

    DIS requires running a unix virtual machine where Inpa runs on Windows.

    As StK pointed out, earlier versions of DIS allowed you to program where later versions require a separate program to do so. If you want to code or program with Inpa you use NCS expert.

    Ian
     
     

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ian S For This Useful Post:

    greenman1969 (17-04-2011),xXxStKxXx (17-04-2011)

  8.  
    #5
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    paulb134's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320i
    Year of Manufacture:
    2001
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    touring

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    norfolk
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
    I can't load ncs mate,it says incompatible with my windows.Any help would be appreciated,many thanks.
     
     

  9.  
    #6
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    joylove's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    cabrio

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,500
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked 467 Times in 367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ian S View Post
    I wouldn't bother installing DIS. It's just a different front end to the same thing and is difficult to install. It's what was used in dealerships and takes a more menu driven approach to form a test plan where with Inpa it's much quicker to use and you just read the error codes of the module you want.

    DIS requires running a unix virtual machine where Inpa runs on Windows.

    As StK pointed out, earlier versions of DIS allowed you to program where later versions require a separate program to do so. If you want to code or program with Inpa you use NCS expert.

    Ian
    +1 The LAN bridge and virtual machine hacks are awkward to configure and version specific. INPA, for the 15 minutes a year you need to use it, is just fine, if a little basic to look at.
     
     

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to joylove For This Useful Post:

    greenman1969 (18-04-2011)

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts