INPA create file error - Page 2

Notices
 

Thread: INPA create file error

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
  1.  
    #11
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    undetterred's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330ci
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheEnd View Post
    Try scanning a few other modules and see if one will talk.
    There might also be an help PDF or user manual in the install folders which lists the different errors and will give you some troubleshooting tips.

    I've tried a few other modules and get the same error each time.

    The lead lights up when plugged in under the steering column,if i'm starting it right?you plug in, then open software,turn key to position 1 select a module.

    The inpa faq's i seem to have covered for this error,gonna try another version of inpa i was given.
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #12
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,907
    Thanks
    2,124
    Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,711 Posts
    Trying another version of Inpa might be a good idea. Not sure why you don't have a OBD.ini. Could try checking your settings in windows explorer to ensure you can view system files. Here's a link to a OBD.ini that works for a USB interface 2001 E46 330d - OBD2 link failure (FIXED) I take it you have set the environment variables etc.

    When I get two minutes I'll try and dig out the Inpa troubleshooting PDF and we can look up the exact error code.

    Ian
     
     

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Ian S For This Useful Post:

    undetterred (27-04-2011)

  5.  
    #13
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    undetterred's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330ci
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Tried another version,same problem,have searched pc for .ini files,no OBD found?

    This is the lead i bought also

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...=STRK:MEWNX:IT

    I aint bridged pins 7+8,as i believe they only offer the battery/engine indication within inpa software.
    Last edited by undetterred; 27-04-2011 at 23:54.
     
     

  6.  
    #14
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    SlowTech's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330ci
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    SlowTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    7,043
    Thanks
    3,720
    Thanked 3,798 Times in 3,107 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by undetterred View Post
    Tried another version,same problem,have searched pc for .ini files,no OBD found?
    here's mine which is running on win7 os, any use?

    tbh looks same as Ian posted!

    [OBD]
    Port=Com1
    Hardware=OBD
    RETRY=ON
    ;Tracelevel=0xFFFFFFFF
    ;Tracelevel=0xFFFFFFFF
    ;Tracelevel=0xF0000000
    ;Tracelevel=0x0000FFFF
    ; Bit 0 = Funktionsaufruf
    ; Bit 1 = io Ergebnis
    ; Bit 2 = nio Ergebnis
    ; Bit 3 = Detailinfos
    ; Nibble 0 = readchar_wait
    ; Nibble 1 = main
    ; Nibble 2 = cmd
    ; Nibble 3 = obd
    ; Nibble 4 = send_and_receive_...
    ; Nibble 5 = read_telegram_...
    ; Nibble 6 = send_telegram
    ; Nibble 7 = SendData


    [UNIT_A]
    Port=Com2
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_B]
    Port=Com3
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_C]
    Port=Com4
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_D]
    Port=Com5
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_E]
    Port=Com6
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_F]
    Port=Com7
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_G]
    Port=Com8
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_H]
    Port=Com9
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_I]
    Port=Com10
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_J]
    Port=Com11
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_K]
    Port=Com12
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_L]
    Port=Com13
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_M]
    Port=Com14
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_N]
    Port=Com15
    Hardware=OBD

    [UNIT_O]
    Port=Com16
    Hardware=OBD
     
     

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to SlowTech For This Useful Post:

    undetterred (28-04-2011)

  8.  
    #15
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    undetterred's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330ci
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Is it as simple as copying the above in note pad and placing in
    C:\EDIABAS\BIN ????
     
     

  9.  
    #16
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    SlowTech's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330ci
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    SlowTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    7,043
    Thanks
    3,720
    Thanked 3,798 Times in 3,107 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by undetterred View Post
    Is it as simple as copying the above in note pad and placing in
    C:\EDIABAS\BIN ????
    gotta be worth trying ?
     
     

  10.  
    #17
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,907
    Thanks
    2,124
    Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,711 Posts
    Can you see ediabas.ini? It won't help it work but will help us troubleshoot.

    Ian
     
     

  11.  
    #18
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,907
    Thanks
    2,124
    Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,711 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by undetterred View Post
    Tried another version,same problem,have searched pc for .ini files,no OBD found?

    This is the lead i bought also

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...=STRK:MEWNX:IT

    I aint bridged pins 7+8,as i believe they only offer the battery/engine indication within inpa software.
    Lead looks fine. Ignition detection is done by another mod but you should still be able to communicate with most modules without bridging the pins.

    Ian
     
     

  12.  
    #19
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    jokiemay's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320D Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Belfast
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    theres a guide on this forum that works perfectly. i was having same problems until i tried the method.

    http://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum/...08/#post691466
     
     

  13.  
    #20
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    undetterred's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330ci
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ian S View Post
    Can you see ediabas.ini? It won't help it work but will help us troubleshoot.

    Ian
    Right i've found the ediabas.ini,and edited the connection entry from ads,to std:obd.
    When i boot inpa from the desk top icon?take it this is right?i now get an error about fifo settings.
    Yet i dont have an option to change any fifo settings within the advanced com port setting?
     
     

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts