BMW INPA diagnostics an idiots guide to getting started - Page 6

Notices
 

Thread: BMW INPA diagnostics an idiots guide to getting started

Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 101
  1.  
    #51
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    big chris's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320c1
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Convertible

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    dailydoggy... so do you think I should go with the vagcom to 16 pin and 20 pin obd setup ... and would this give me full access to modules like ACS / traction with a usb 1.0 port... cheers chris
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #52
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    joylove's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    cabrio

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,500
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked 467 Times in 367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dailydoggy View Post
    its not an ADS interface its just an INPA 15pin to obd2 adaptor like in my picc on page 1 we have been here before it may access some things but not all of it on a 15pin round car...

    ya can buy that same setup for £17 (also linked to on these pages)...
    OK, I just saw this bit and got excited by a cheaper RS232 adaptor.
    Double K-Line support by two Motorola MC33199 K-Line drivers
    and logic gates
    Switchable K-Line pullups by RS232 control line.
    Supports:
    BMW 3 Series E30
    BMW 5 Series E34
    Quote Originally Posted by big chris View Post
    OK cool, do you know anyone on here that would know 100% or has a e39 they have tested etc... or the 10% your not sure about what is this exactly? So I can try do a investigation into that part and post my findings here for anyone else who has problems..... I would like to give somthing back to the forum if I can ... thanks for your help... Chris
    Just get it (VAGCOM + 16 to 20pin) ordered, you don't have pin 15, and it's only the price of a couple of cheeseburgers and a coffee if it's not correct for you. It should be fine.
    Quote Originally Posted by E36_turbo View Post
    I have gone crazy trying to find an serial pcmcia which has an irq and memory address thus i can change it and make ads work with it

    does any one know what chipset i should be looking for or what model that ads will work with it

    i highly appreciate ur help
    Also you'll need to reformat your harddrive and disable windows' automatic IRQ settings, also you'd need a BIOS chip that allso IRQ assignment, most (including my Sony) don't have that any more.

    Do you have an ADS adaptor and USB-serial? Have you tried as a quick test

    INTERFACE=USB
    STD:ADS
    as a combo? It's been something I've been wanting to try.

    What car are you working on?
     
     

  4.  
    #53
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    big chris's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320c1
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Convertible

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi dailydoggy and joylove... Im working on a first registered 10/08/1998 bmw 523i se UK chassis **********BT91532 ... this has no 16pin under drivers footwell and only the 20pin under the hood ... I am using an old Compac Presario 2100 XP sp3 with real serial port and usb 1.0 port .. not sure on the bios thing you where talking about though ... trying to access the ABS - ASC / traction module on my ECU to see or clear fault that has happened ... I suspect ABS Module but need to do test to find out if any other faults are been thrown up before spending £150+ on overhall or worst still new second hand one which involves recoding... as you know abs light is a fail on mot and needs to be sorted... the ADS plug I have (I beleive its ADS) is this ebay item http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/140471558008 ... the insides of the plug where posted on this thread a day or so ago so please have a look at the setup .. I have drawn the exact position of the pacman spindal on the picture so you know which way up the plug is also there is a picture of my connection under the hood... I do not own a serail to usb connector... any help would be good .. just waiting to get full info off you guys and then will buy the vagcom setup mentioned above as need this sorting asap.... Chris
    Last edited by big chris; 07-10-2011 at 19:57.
     
     

  5.  
    #54
    BMW Maestro
    Car Details
    E36_turbo's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    E36_turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    525
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joylove View Post
    .

    Do you have an ADS adaptor and USB-serial? Have you tried as a quick test

    INTERFACE=USB
    STD:ADS
    as a combo? It's been something I've been wanting to try.

    What car are you working on?
    Hi Joylove,

    Thanks for the reply, u may laugh but I took my big pc down and used a 1000 watt power invertor which allowed me to connect to ABS module

    However it will be nice to have that feature which allows me to conveniently connect to the module using my laptop. I have a pcmcia and usb to serial adaptor.
    I used both and non of them worked, what i noticed is that my pcmcia is recognised as usb to serial adaptor by device manager.

    After reading different threads and forums, people suggest that only proper pcmcia chipset will have a resource and irq which shows up in the device manager of windows and thus ads will work with it

    I can try ur suggestion, do u mean to change the ebdiasa file and put

    INTERFACE=USB
    and then below it type


    STD:ADS

    thanks
     
     

  6.  
    #55
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    joylove's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    cabrio

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,500
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked 467 Times in 367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by E36_turbo View Post
    Hi Joylove,

    Thanks for the reply, u may laugh but I took my big pc down and used a 1000 watt power invertor which allowed me to connect to ABS module

    However it will be nice to have that feature which allows me to conveniently connect to the module using my laptop. I have a pcmcia and usb to serial adaptor.
    I used both and non of them worked, what i noticed is that my pcmcia is recognised as usb to serial adaptor by device manager.

    After reading different threads and forums, people suggest that only proper pcmcia chipset will have a resource and irq which shows up in the device manager of windows and thus ads will work with it

    I can try ur suggestion, do u mean to change the ebdiasa file and put

    INTERFACE=USB
    and then below it type


    STD:ADS

    thanks
    Make the changes in OBD.ini and edaibas.ini.

    Try
    STD:ADS
    HARDWARE=USB
    or
    STD:OBD
    HARDWARE=ADS
    or
    STD:OBD
    HARDWARE=USB
    I think the middle one (if HARDWARE=ADS is supported in the software) is the most likely candidate. If your german is any good try tranlslating this.
    HARDWARE=OBD
    ;OBD-Stecker OBD
    ;OBD-Stecker am USB->Seriell-Adapter USB
    ;alte ADS-Hardware ADS
    UBATT=ON
    Quote Originally Posted by Google Translate
    HARDWARE = OBD
    ; OBD OBD connector
    ; OBD connector to the USB-> Serial-USB Adapter
    ; old hardware ADS ADS
    UBATT = ON
    So either interface=ADS or interface=ADS-Hardware or interface=Hardware ADS might be valid.


    You may also need to run one time the exe in c:\EDIABAS\Hardware\ADS\ADS32 but I don't know what it does.
     
     

  7.  
    #56
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    anees's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    318iSE
    Year of Manufacture:
    2000
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Woking
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    I have the following vehicles:

    2000 E46 318i M43 ( with both under driver's footwell + round pin under hood ) connectors.

    1998 E36 328i ( with 20 pin round connector under hood )

    With DS1, I can connect to the E46 ( using the under the hood connector )..no issues here.

    I cannot connect to the E36. Do I need to set DS1 to work in ADS mode ?

    Thanks...
     
     

  8.  
    #57
    Super Moderator
    Car Details
    dailydoggy's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330i
    Year of Manufacture:
    2001
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    dailydoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,242
    Thanks
    1,797
    Thanked 5,238 Times in 4,076 Posts
    none of you are reading the original post in this for guidance...


    USB interfaces will "NOT" work with INPA set in std "ADS" mode it has to be set in std "OBD" mode

    ADS INPA mode will only work with a serial interface going into a serial port...


    most if not all E36's (late 1990's backwards) are full ADS cars!!! OB2 interfaces and adaptors (serial or USB) will "NOT" work fully on an "ADS car" you need a " FULL ADS interface or switchbox" not an OBD2 (serial or USB) to access everything..

    THIS IS ALL EXPLAINED IN THE ORIGINAL FIRST POST...
    330i sport a big chunk of berlin...

     
     

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to dailydoggy For This Useful Post:

    neiljewell (11-10-2011)

  10.  
    #58
    BMW Maestro
    Car Details
    E36_turbo's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    E36_turbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    525
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dailydoggy View Post
    none of you are reading the original post in this for guidance...


    USB interfaces will "NOT" work with INPA set in std "ADS" mode it has to be set in std "OBD" mode

    ADS INPA mode will only work with a serial interface going into a serial port...


    most if not all E36's (late 1990's backwards) are full ADS cars!!! OB2 interfaces and adaptors (serial or USB) will "NOT" work fully on an "ADS car" you need a " FULL ADS interface or switchbox" not an OBD2 (serial or USB) to access everything..

    THIS IS ALL EXPLAINED IN THE ORIGINAL FIRST POST...
    we have read it and you are right, ADS needs serial however some pcmcia that have a irq and resource configurable can talk to ADS.

    with my understanding USB can not . I posted the question because My pcmcia althought it is meant to be pcmcia it has a usb to serial chip in it which means it does not work. i hope this makes sense. if u are unsure type, pcmcia ads in google and then u will find out that it will work with certain serial pcmcia
     
     

  11.  
    #59
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    roadwolf's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    318 is
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    coupe

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is it worth trying the bluetooth adapter for 16 pin OBD, to save the problem of configuring the serial port or will this not be recognised by ADS?
     
     

  12.  
    #60
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    E36Coupe328's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    328 + 325
    Year of Manufacture:
    1995 + 1994
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    E36Coupe328's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    225
    Thanked 1,089 Times in 956 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joylove View Post
    Also you'll need to reformat your harddrive and disable windows' automatic IRQ settings, also you'd need a BIOS chip that allso IRQ assignment
    So basically hitting F5 at the bit that says something like:

    "Press F6 if you have to install a third-party SCSI or RAID driver"

    And choosing the "Standard PC" HAL?

    You can change to that HAL in device manager BUT it is not recommended and can make a good paperweight but if wiping anyway.......


    No warranty of any kind implied or given and no liability for any loss, damage or injury, no matter how incurred accepted.

    Free Gas Kit* now fitted to free 328*

    *Based on ROI period exceeded
     
     

Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 ... LastLast
Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts