Another "INPA not working, help!" thread (Data transmission to control unit disturbed) - ADS interface - Page 2

Notices
 

Thread: Another "INPA not working, help!" thread (Data transmission to control unit disturbed) - ADS interface

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 80
  1.  
    #11
    Dr of BMW
    Car Details
    mistreku's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1993
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    mistreku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    716
    Thanked 569 Times in 390 Posts
    I think so, yes. Connects through RS323 and it was described as a true ADS interface. Got it from doitauto.de. I'm pretty sure it's a software problem, not hardware. However, for a IT challenged caveman like myself, it's pretty much rocket science.
    There are only two products required to make the universe work properly: Duct tape and WD40. 


    If it moves (and it shouldn't): duct tape. 
If it doesn’t move (and it should): WD40.

    Everything else is just stuff.
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #12
    FAL
    FAL is offline
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    FAL's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    R53
    Year of Manufacture:
    2006
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Hatchback

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mistreku View Post
    I think so, yes. Connects through RS323 and it was described as a true ADS interface. Got it from doitauto.de. I'm pretty sure it's a software problem, not hardware. However, for a IT challenged caveman like myself, it's pretty much rocket science.
    I was thinking it's an L-Line hardware issue, but let's try some software:

    Here's an ADS.ini file for you to add to C:\Windows: https://www.rapidshare.com/files/3627448196/ADS.zip (You might want to create a short-cut on the desktop, for this file - you can then open it and try both MODE=NORMAL and MODE=KBUS). Here's v4.4.4 (the oldest one i can lay my hands on at short notice): https://www.rapidshare.com/files/314...PA_v4.4.4_.zip

    What version of INPA and Ediabas are you running? (There should be a PDF in C:\EDIABAS called "Package")
     
     

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to FAL For This Useful Post:

    mistreku (18-01-2012)

  5.  
    #13
    Super Moderator
    Car Details
    dailydoggy's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330i
    Year of Manufacture:
    2001
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    dailydoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,250
    Thanks
    1,797
    Thanked 5,238 Times in 4,076 Posts
    ERM this maybe a longshot like but in your OBD.ini file does it say hardware= ADS or OBD???
    330i sport a big chunk of berlin...

     
     

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to dailydoggy For This Useful Post:

    mistreku (18-01-2012)

  7.  
    #14
    Dr of BMW
    Car Details
    mistreku's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1993
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    mistreku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    716
    Thanked 569 Times in 390 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FAL View Post
    I was thinking it's an L-Line hardware issue, but let's try some software:

    Here's an ADS.ini file for you to add to C:\Windows: https://www.rapidshare.com/files/3627448196/ADS.zip (You might want to create a short-cut on the desktop, for this file - you can then open it and try both MODE=NORMAL and MODE=KBUS). Here's v4.4.4 (the oldest one i can lay my hands on at short notice): https://www.rapidshare.com/files/314...PA_v4.4.4_.zip

    What version of INPA and Ediabas are you running? (There should be a PDF in C:\EDIABAS called "Package")
    Thanks a lot, I will try it and report back. I can't remember what version it was (already uninstalled, as I managed to fook it up while fiddling with files) but it was a pretty new one.

    Quote Originally Posted by dailydoggy View Post
    ERM this maybe a longshot like but in your OBD.ini file does it say hardware= ADS or OBD???
    ADS mate, was the first thing I checked.
    There are only two products required to make the universe work properly: Duct tape and WD40. 


    If it moves (and it shouldn't): duct tape. 
If it doesn’t move (and it should): WD40.

    Everything else is just stuff.
     
     

  8.  
    #15
    FAL
    FAL is offline
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    FAL's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    R53
    Year of Manufacture:
    2006
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Hatchback

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mistreku View Post
    Thanks a lot, I will try it and report back. I can't remember what version it was (already uninstalled, as I managed to fook it up while fiddling with files) but it was a pretty new one.
    Okay (True ADS mode isn't supported after Ediabas v6.4.7 - just a bit of info' for everybody). I take it, that you've run the ADS set-up program? ( C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\ADS\ADS32\ADSSETUP.EXE)
     
     

  9.  
    #16
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,908
    Thanks
    2,130
    Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,711 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mistreku View Post
    I think so, yes. Connects through RS323 and it was described as a true ADS interface. Got it from doitauto.de. I'm pretty sure it's a software problem, not hardware. However, for a IT challenged caveman like myself, it's pretty much rocket science.
    I've got that interface I'm a bit rusty but the other file is the obd.ini.

    It's a switchable interface and mine wasn't labelled but it's in ADS mode when the ignition detection works.

    Ian
     
     

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ian S For This Useful Post:

    FAL (18-01-2012),mistreku (18-01-2012)

  11.  
    #17
    Super Moderator
    Car Details
    dailydoggy's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    330i
    Year of Manufacture:
    2001
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    dailydoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    12,250
    Thanks
    1,797
    Thanked 5,238 Times in 4,076 Posts
    330i sport a big chunk of berlin...

     
     

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dailydoggy For This Useful Post:

    FAL (18-01-2012),mistreku (18-01-2012)

  13.  
    #18
    Dr of BMW
    Car Details
    mistreku's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1993
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    mistreku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Posts
    1,250
    Thanks
    716
    Thanked 569 Times in 390 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ian S View Post
    I've got that interface I'm a bit rusty but the other file is the obd.ini.

    It's a switchable interface and mine wasn't labelled but it's in ADS mode when the ignition detection works.

    Ian
    Any luck with yours Ian? Did you manage to set it properly? If so, what version of INPA are you using? If other SW, which one?

    @DD: installed the 3.01, but still no luck. Detects battery and ignition, connects to ABS, instrument panel and central locking, but that's pretty much it. Other bits, it either doesn't connect or I don't have it installed in the car (like cruise control, PCD etc)

    SO.. no more of the "data transmission disturbed" but now getting this:



    SYS-0002: ECU OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND. Program will be stopped.



    Requested control unit: "DME331, DME331K20 not found". Control unit found: ". Program will be stopped
    There are only two products required to make the universe work properly: Duct tape and WD40. 


    If it moves (and it shouldn't): duct tape. 
If it doesn’t move (and it should): WD40.

    Everything else is just stuff.
     
     

  14.  
    #19
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,908
    Thanks
    2,130
    Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,711 Posts
    I've got Inpa and DIS working. My car is a bit younger though. I'll try digging my diag laptop out at the weekend and see what version I am running. I know I am running DIS V44 and I thought I was running Ediabas 6.4.3 Inpa 4.4.7.

    I'm surprised that copying in that missing file didn't work.

    Ian
     
     

  15.  
    #20
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Spirit's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e36 323i se saloon
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    Spirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    kings lynn-norfolk
    Posts
    4,167
    Thanks
    4,354
    Thanked 2,936 Times in 2,212 Posts
    im downloading this-BMW DIAGNOSTIC DIS v39 & PROGMAN SSS dis gt1

    i have a windows vista home premium with serial port but i have a usb lead and connections etc etc

    i can access the main screen on inpa carsoft software but then i get module not found error,hopefully with the other software i can overcome this
     
     

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts