2003 E39 530d Dash and OBC not working after using Carsoft 6.5

Notices
 

Thread: 2003 E39 530d Dash and OBC not working after using Carsoft 6.5

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. 2003 E39 530d Dash and OBC not working after using Carsoft 6.5 
    #1
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    welsh alex's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    530d Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Got a 2003 530d sport with nav and all the gadgets.

    Used carsoft 6.5 for the first time to reset the dash language from French to Uk English. Abandoned the E39 'vehicle coding' write first time round then did it again to completion. Now my language is english but the rev counter doesn't work, the mpg guage is a bit random and the OBC doesn't work.

    Have tried repeating the process, guess I can't undo it.

    On the bright side the language is still uk english, but there is so much else not working.

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks :-)
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    xXxStKxXx's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1993
    Transmission Type:
    man
    Car Body Type:
    saloon

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    North London
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    4,432
    Thanked 6,073 Times in 4,855 Posts
    Genuine or dodgy copy carsoft?
    We are not allowed to discuss dodgy copies but if this is what you used and not genuine therein lies the problem probably
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    welsh alex's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    530d Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Stk,

    What does the 'vehicle coding' actually write to then ? The Dash or the ECU ? I think I may have caused the problem myself by canceling the first attempt at 'vehicle coding' as I thought it was taking a tad too long.

    If it is the case that I have only part programmed something can I get a generic file for whatever the 'vehicle coding' function programmes ?
     
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6.  
    #4
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,976
    Thanks
    2,148
    Thanked 2,257 Times in 1,727 Posts
     
     

  7.  
    #5
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    martiboy's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i se
    Year of Manufacture:
    2002
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    saloon

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sounds like the memory dump in the cluster has been corupt. Not sure if you can read and save the cluster dump with carsoft. If you can you will need to find someone with the same cluster to get there dump file and wright it to yours. It will also need to be the same model ie auto or manual petrol or diesel. It is very straight forward to do if you know how to do it. If you change your cluster you will end up with the anti tamper light coming on.
     
     

  8.  
    #6
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    welsh alex's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    530d Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2003
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the info Ian and Marti.

    Assuming I find someone with the same car, is there any way of doing the reprogram if I can't do it using carsoft ?
     
     

  9.  
    #7
    Administrator
    Car Details
    Ian S's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    M3 Evo, E60 530D, 911 C4S, Yaris T Sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Loon
    Ian S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    3,976
    Thanks
    2,148
    Thanked 2,257 Times in 1,727 Posts
    Personally I'd be tempted to take it to a specialist, could save on any further damage, spending unnecessary money, and months of research!

    My interpretation is that coding is turning options on or off and programming is changing the software running.

    I'm getting a bit out of my depth here but if you really want to have a pop at coding you could acquire a copy of NCSExpert and give that ago. I have a basic NCSExpert guide somewhere that someone very talented gave me if you want to PM me your email address. PASoft can also do the coding that even the dealer software can't do. I think you can even set the mileage with it. You could probably pick both interfaces up for about £50.

    For programming if you have wiped the software I think you will need GT1 / Progman.

    Saying all this, I'd still take it to a specialist who knows what they are doing, can regulate the battery voltage etc.

    I'll also PM someone who maybe able to provide further assistance.

    Ian
     
     

  10.  
    #8
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    martiboy's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i se
    Year of Manufacture:
    2002
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    saloon

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The problam you have is its the software in the cluster/speedo is corrupt. The only way you can fix it is to reprogram it is by removing the cluster and opening it up and programing the M35080 chip. Before you even think of opening the cluster be very carefull as the motors are very very sensitive and can be broken. You would also need a copy of a dump file from the same car and a eeprom reader/writer. Even the bmw gt1 cant program this. If you send me a pm i can supply you with pics of what to do with the motors and i could also tell you who would be the best people to deal with your problam.
     
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts