no dash lights after trying to reprogramme cas with sss progman - Page 2

Notices
 

Thread: no dash lights after trying to reprogramme cas with sss progman

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1.  
    #11
    Moderator
    Car Details
    chr15gb's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    530D
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    chr15gb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Brizzle
    Posts
    639
    Images
    2
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 183 Times in 136 Posts
    Ouch!

    I've spent what feels like an eternity investigating WinKFP. It seems to be the way to go in order to code a single module but I cannot find a simpletons guide anywhere.
    Thousands of Forum posts but not enough to have any confidence.
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #12
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    andy5468's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    535d sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    auto
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    andy5468's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    bristol
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I agree. It would appear that Progman often wants to update multiple modules which is just too damn risky.

    I will look for a second hand SIM/SGM safety and gateway module now for the airbag issue and let the dealer do the programming bit.

    Can anyone recommend a good place to get hold of this module second hand or reconditioned as i understand new it is approx £500?
     
     

  4.  
    #13
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    TheEnd's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    540
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    TheEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    8,979
    Thanks
    478
    Thanked 2,988 Times in 2,440 Posts
    Try contacting BBA-reman and see if they can repair your existing one.

    BBA reman. ABS, ecu's, throttle bodies, air mass meters, and catalytic converters
     
     

  5.  
    #14
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Spirit's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e36 323i se saloon
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    manual
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    Spirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    kings lynn-norfolk
    Posts
    4,167
    Thanks
    4,354
    Thanked 2,936 Times in 2,212 Posts
    Air bag warning is the passenger seat occupancy sensor and tenner fix off ebay
     
     

  6.  
    #15
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    andy5468's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    535d sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    auto
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    andy5468's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    bristol
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Although that may be a common problem that is unfortunately not the fault in my case.

    Both myself and the garage have read the fault code to be internal sim/sgm safety and gateway module fault.

    I have also spent the £10 on ebay trying to try the seat occupancy fix first with no joy! New unit £500.

    Still trying to locate a second hand unit
     
     

  7.  
    #16
    BMW Master
    Car Details
    Jason_H's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    535d E61
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Touring

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    445
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 104 Times in 87 Posts
    Andy when you bricked the CAS using Progman did you have a PSU connected to the car? If you did what voltage and current rating?

    I'm interested in figuring out why SSS V32 failed. The dealers used to use this and it did fail but would get there in the end if you retried. The hacked version that runs on a laptop should contain all the necessary files so I wonder if the car voltage wasn't enough during the programming phase.
     
     

  8.  
    #17
    BMW Master
    Car Details
    Jason_H's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    535d E61
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Touring

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    445
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 104 Times in 87 Posts
    Oh and another question, if you don't mind. Does your diagnostic lead detect the ignition being turned on and off? If not I wonder if that was your problem - progman never saw the ignition go off then on and couldn't complete the process.
     
     

  9.  
    #18
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    andy5468's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    535d sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    auto
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    andy5468's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    bristol
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Jason

    I had my brand new halfords car charger connected to the car. It is specifically for 1800cc and above + diesel vehicles so assume it was man enough for the job.

    my INPA detects ignition on and off ok.

    As sson as the programming failed i could not retry as progman did not recognise any modules due to me loosing the ignition power.

    I can only think that maybe i lost my wireless internet connection and that could have caused a fail?

    2005 535D M SPORT 19" ALLOYS, LEATHER, SUNROOF, XENONS, LOGIC 7 WITH PRO SAT NAV
     
     

  10.  
    #19
    BMW Master
    Car Details
    Jason_H's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    535d E61
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Touring

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    445
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 104 Times in 87 Posts
    I think your problem was very likely to be the charger. A car battery charger isn't suitable. A decent intelligent battery charger varies its voltage in order to charge the battery effectively - this is definitely undesirable when programming. Battery chargers are also rated at say 4A or 6A or 8A. My E61 pulls over 20A just with the ignition on - that would max out the charger immediately let alone the extra power required for programming. When dealers program cars they connect a Power Supply Unit (PSU) not a charger that holds a steady 14.5V and it does this for any current up to 70A. It's an expensive piece of kit.

    Even if you use WinKFP (which is faster and more targetted) you're still playing with fire programming without a decent PSU connected. With a decent PSU Progman should be fine.

    I am sorry you had a problem but I think it's important to understand why so others don't suffer the same problem.
     
     

  11.  
    #20
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    andy5468's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    535d sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    auto
    Car Body Type:
    saloon
    andy5468's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    bristol
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason_H View Post
    I think your problem was very likely to be the charger. A car battery charger isn't suitable. A decent intelligent battery charger varies its voltage in order to charge the battery effectively - this is definitely undesirable when programming. Battery chargers are also rated at say 4A or 6A or 8A. My E61 pulls over 20A just with the ignition on - that would max out the charger immediately let alone the extra power required for programming. When dealers program cars they connect a Power Supply Unit (PSU) not a charger that holds a steady 14.5V and it does this for any current up to 70A. It's an expensive piece of kit.

    Even if you use WinKFP (which is faster and more targetted) you're still playing with fire programming without a decent PSU connected. With a decent PSU Progman should be fine.

    I am sorry you had a problem but I think it's important to understand why so others don't suffer the same problem.
    Thanks. This is certainly something to understand and maybe this was the reason. From reading other posts i will stay clear of Progman in the future.

    2005 535D M SPORT 19" ALLOYS, LEATHER, SUNROOF, XENONS, LOGIC 7 WITH PRO SAT NAV
     
     

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts