e46
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

Thanks
    Hi, Newbie here.

I have just purchased my first 1999 318i e46. It has a few running issues & the engine light is on. I purchased a cable from ebay which came with copies of the software. I have tried for about two weeks to get this program to work now but it just states it's not compatable with windows 7, 64 bit.

I have also tried the guide on how do load it via this site but still no joy

Anyone near Oxford who is clued up on this & could poss install it for me in exchange for some beer tokens??

2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements

Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Super_ted's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

Thanks
    No one able to help?

BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    e36rob's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46 320d
    Year of Manufacture:
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon

Images
    Thanks
    Couple of things for you which may help.

Firstly, have you definitely bought a BMW capable code reader? Though they all have an OBD II connector they have different protocal's so if you definitely have one capable of diagnosing an E46 then thats the first tick.

Secondly, I tried all this stuff to be honest and it is a major faff so i ended up buying the bmtechnic kit which is a bespoke connetor and softeare available at a click of a button on windows vista or 7 aswell as xp, i know it's more outlay but it will save a load of messing, if however you are good with computers then there is a way to get DIS working.

Also, make sure you have installed the software to turn your laptop port into a diagnostic head, should of been supplied.

Instructions to install DIS on a windows vista/7 pc:

Download and install VMware, it is a standalone program that allows you to run windows xp from a windows 7.