digital clock

Notices
 

Thread: digital clock

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. digital clock 
    #1
    Bimmer Fan
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    west sussex
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i'm thinking of purchasing an 318 is coupe but the only thing im unsure on is that it has digital m tech clocks in them so im unaware of the mileage, ive been told they automatically pick up the mileage but im not too sure can any one tell me if this is true. thanks
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    Bimmerforums Central
    Car Details
    Boostist's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    E46 320i
    Year of Manufacture:
    2001
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    Boostist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    8,035
    Thanks
    3,347
    Thanked 3,426 Times in 1,481 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lil_dom View Post
    i'm thinking of purchasing an 318 is coupe but the only thing im unsure on is that it has digital m tech clocks in them so im unaware of the mileage, ive been told they automatically pick up the mileage but im not too sure can any one tell me if this is true. thanks
    What do you mean mate?

    That it has had different M power clocks fitted by the current owner?

    if so, it wont pick the mileage up as far as I am aware but would read that of the M Power BM that they were removed from....

    maybe someone else can confirm this..but please add a bit more info if you can
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    RYM
    RYM is offline
    Legendary BFuk Member
    Car Details
    RYM's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325tds
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Touring
    RYM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    12,959
    Thanks
    5,540
    Thanked 4,935 Times in 3,119 Posts
    Here we go,

    If the mileage on the 318is was 140,000 miles and the clocks were removed and replaced with a set from a car that was only reading 70,000 miles then the mileage reading on the 318is when the new clocks were fitted would be........ 70,000. The only way you can have the 140,000 displayed on the replacement clocks is to have them callibrated.

    Check out this link... http://www.fixmymileage.com/

    By the way 4 cylinder clocks will only give correct readings in a 4 cylinder and 6 cylinder clocks will only give correct readings in a 6 cylinder.
     
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6.  
    #4
    Bimmer Fan Gee31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bristol & London, UK
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mileage wont get picked up automatically!!! It will have the wrong mileage on the clocks!!!

    You have to get the clocks coded to get the correct mileage the car has done.
     
     

  7.  
    #5
    RYM
    RYM is offline
    Legendary BFuk Member
    Car Details
    RYM's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325tds
    Year of Manufacture:
    1996
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Touring
    RYM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    12,959
    Thanks
    5,540
    Thanked 4,935 Times in 3,119 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gee31 View Post
    Mileage wont get picked up automatically!!! It will have the wrong mileage on the clocks!!!

    You have to get the clocks coded to get the correct mileage the car has done.
    Good Post
     
     

  8.  
    #6
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Ronnie's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    See above
    Year of Manufacture:
    Never too old, never too new
    Transmission Type:
    Always manual
    Car Body Type:
    Usually 5 doors
    Ronnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset.
    Posts
    20,394
    Thanks
    6,198
    Thanked 7,051 Times in 5,322 Posts
    Later BMWs store the mileage on the DME as well as the dash(binnacle). So if you plug a decent scanner like a Autologic on you can see if the clock mileage matches the DME mileage, Also IIRC it also has the VIN coded in as well. But yes it won't change, what ever binnacle you fit, it will display the mileage of THAT binnacle
     
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts