2006 E91 325iSE Fitted Autochanger but head unit not recognising

Notices
 

Thread: 2006 E91 325iSE Fitted Autochanger but head unit not recognising

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. 2006 E91 325iSE Fitted Autochanger but head unit not recognising 
    #1
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Junction12's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i Touring
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Touring

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tiverton, Devon
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My E91 has factory fit CD auto changer prep and a professional head unit. I bought a secondhand CD autochanger which loads CDs ok but the head unit doesn't want to recognise the unit. Any ideas? ( my guess is there is some software change required?)
    The unit I bought is the right age for the car and plugs in ok ( though there is a separate 3 pin cable in the vicinity but no socket on the unit)
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    BMW Maestro
    Car Details
    mjojom's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e61
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    A
    Car Body Type:
    T

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    240
    Thanked 201 Times in 164 Posts
    yep, you need to code the car mate. Need to code/make addition to VO to tell the car that it does actually have cd changer. then you must code the option to the module and activate it so you can see it on the idrive.
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Junction12's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i Touring
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Touring

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tiverton, Devon
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't have idrive it's a 2006 car...any ideas?
     
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6.  
    #4
    BMW Maestro
    Car Details
    mjojom's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e61
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    A
    Car Body Type:
    T

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    240
    Thanked 201 Times in 164 Posts
    still need to code the car and tell what HW it does have.
     
     

  7.  
    #5
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Junction12's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i Touring
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Touring

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tiverton, Devon
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    £ealer? or specialist or is there another way?
     
     

  8.  
    #6
    BMW Maestro
    Car Details
    mjojom's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e61
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    A
    Car Body Type:
    T

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    240
    Thanked 201 Times in 164 Posts
    dealer would want arm and leg for this. good garages with autologic should be able to do it or you want to google on it and get yourself familiar with coding. (lads on bmw coding forum are quite helpful when comes to this things) not difficult at whole, you would need good lead and software perhaps from bmw technik.
     
     

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to mjojom For This Useful Post:

    Junction12 (01-01-2013)

  10.  
    #7
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    Junction12's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i Touring
    Year of Manufacture:
    2005
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Touring

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tiverton, Devon
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have bought a lead and software from BM Technic and think I have code the car to accept the CDC. the HU now shows it as selectable but still wont allow it to be selected.
    I have read that the MOST bus needs connecting up - but I have no idea if this is true or where the other end of the MOST lead that I plugged on to the CDC is. I suspect that since there was no loop connector on the end of the lead in the boot that this is probably true as it is fibre optic.

    anyone out there any idea where it might be located?
     
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts