2004 X5 3.0d - dashboard error code EEPROM-K1

Notices
 

Thread: 2004 X5 3.0d - dashboard error code EEPROM-K1

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. 2004 X5 3.0d - dashboard error code EEPROM-K1 
    #1
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    smeeagain's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    X5 3.0d sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    automatic
    Car Body Type:
    estate

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    hampshire
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    last week I noticed this code on the dashboard EEPROM-K1 - it appeared once and hasnt appeared again - can anyone tell me what this means please?
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    TheEnd's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    540
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    TheEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    8,979
    Thanks
    478
    Thanked 2,990 Times in 2,440 Posts
    It's a small eeprom on your clocks PCB, and it'll have become corrupt.
    Wait for now, as it might reprogram itself and work fine
     
     

  4. eeprom 
    #3
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    smeeagain's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    X5 3.0d sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    automatic
    Car Body Type:
    estate

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    hampshire
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks - and what is an eeprom ? - when you say the clock's pcb do you mean the time clock of a clock within the ecu ?

    Smee
     
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6.  
    #4
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    TheEnd's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    540
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    TheEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    8,979
    Thanks
    478
    Thanked 2,990 Times in 2,440 Posts
    The PCB is the printed circuit board, which is all the electronics inside. There will be at least one Eeprom on this, which is a memory chip, where mileage, VIN number and other little details are stored, like country version, number of cylinders, number of wheel rotations for a given mph etc.. all that sort of stuff.
    During starting, the Instrument cluster will self check, and it's found the information on the chip to have a problem, either communication with it is disrupted, or more likely, it has become corrupt.
    It can often recover the chip, and write to it again, and the error will go away, but if it keeps returning, it might need a new instrument cluster.
     
     

  7. eeprom 
    #5
    BMW Fanatic
    Car Details
    smeeagain's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    X5 3.0d sport
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    automatic
    Car Body Type:
    estate

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    hampshire
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    thanks for the detailed reply - last tiem it was in at BMW they said their computer couldnt connect o the car's ecu for diagnostics? could they be replaced ? cost ? would mileage be wiped off the cluster?
     
     

  8.  
    #6
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    TheEnd's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    540
    Year of Manufacture:
    1998
    Transmission Type:
    Auto
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    TheEnd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    8,979
    Thanks
    478
    Thanked 2,990 Times in 2,440 Posts
    there can be plenty of odd little problems that disturb the diagnostic line, maybe there is noise on the line, of the dash is interfering, it's hard to tell.
    The clocks can be replaced, but BMW will only replace with a new set, 0 miles, and mark in the history the change has been made.
    Cost...
    about £590 Uncoded, and the coding will be extra on top, and won't include the mileage!

    There are plenty of dash specialists who should be able to clone your instrument cluster, or at least correct the mileage if you get a s/h set.
     
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts