2004 e46 320d obc retrofit - Page 3

Notices
 

Thread: 2004 e46 320d obc retrofit

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 43
  1.  
    #21
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Ronnie's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    See above
    Year of Manufacture:
    Never too old, never too new
    Transmission Type:
    Always manual
    Car Body Type:
    Usually 5 doors
    Ronnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset.
    Posts
    20,394
    Thanks
    6,198
    Thanked 7,051 Times in 5,322 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by vanbasten View Post
    To be honest i'm not sure what machine the guy had.
    He said it could read the codes, but wasnt able to recode them.

    Pretty pointless machine i thought!!

    I'll just have to keep trying
    Many places have machines like that, it's only really the garages that specialise in certain manufacturers that keep equipment to code/recode items as the outlay on them is huge

    A standard scanner that will read a good quantity of manufacturers will cost you around £2000 upwards.

    A scanner/diagnostic machine that does coding as well as read codes can costs over £5000 easily. And if you don't use it much then it's dead money, then when someone does come in they complain why it costs so much to code/program things
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #22
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    vanbasten's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46 320 d
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    vanbasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ahoghill, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    well i've drew a blank with my 2nd indie.

    Have had to book my car in with a stealer for wednesday who "will see if they can do it".

    Am worried about the cost now and if i'll be charged for them pottering about my car.

    Any advice on what i should say when i'm leaving car in to ensure i'm only charged the relevant time (around 15 mins) for the coding, and not for the time they spend figuring out their own equipment?
     
     

  4.  
    #23
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Ronnie's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    See above
    Year of Manufacture:
    Never too old, never too new
    Transmission Type:
    Always manual
    Car Body Type:
    Usually 5 doors
    Ronnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset.
    Posts
    20,394
    Thanks
    6,198
    Thanked 7,051 Times in 5,322 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post
    The instrument cluster needs encoding, adaptation of ZCS/VO.

    You use program version 31.1, retrofit BC(indicator stalk) and add feature.
    Instal DIS v44. Encode Kombi(instrument cluster) via normal recording path
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post
    That will be more stealer specific

    DIS is Stealer equipment more, but you may find a Indy that has it or can use the Autologic to do it, I've never done it so it's new to me, if you do get it done then update us and we can safely say that this will be a very good guide

    It will be "a bit" like the "coding" shown later on in here, http://www.bavauto.com/Assets/inst_pages/ins229.pdf

    This is the MODIC coding menu.

    1)Go to ZCS Coding
    2)Select E46 Series
    3)Select Recode or retrofit
    4)Select Kombi
    5)Select Turn Signal
    6)Enable OBC

    If you get an error touch the OBC button to complete the procedure.

    The dealer should charge you around half a hour.
    Quote Originally Posted by vanbasten View Post
    well i've drew a blank with my 2nd indie.

    Have had to book my car in with a stealer for wednesday who "will see if they can do it".

    Am worried about the cost now and if i'll be charged for them pottering about my car.

    Any advice on what i should say when i'm leaving car in to ensure i'm only charged the relevant time (around 15 mins) for the coding, and not for the time they spend figuring out their own equipment?
    This should give them a good idea I know some dealers have actually had to install old software to get it working

    My friend who has a AUTOLOGIC machine said they could probably do it, I can check with him to be sure if you want to search a Autologic machine out
     
     

  5.  
    #24
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    vanbasten's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46 320 d
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    vanbasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ahoghill, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post

    My friend who has a AUTOLOGIC machine said they could probably do it, I can check with him to be sure if you want to search a Autologic machine out
    I would appreciate it if you could check this out Ronnie.

    Surely as it is offered as a retrofit in the current e46 accessories catalogue they should have the correct software.

    Received an email from the guy in the stealers parts department who said he had spoken to the service dept and it should be around £30 for the coding.
    Am going to take a copy of this with me just in case!!
    Last edited by vanbasten; 20-01-2009 at 09:47. Reason: Further developments
     
     

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to vanbasten For This Useful Post:

    Ronnie (20-01-2009)

  7.  
    #25
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    vanbasten's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46 320 d
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    vanbasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ahoghill, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Well car has been left into stealers this morning for the coding!!

    Girl on service reception said they had never done it before so i handed over the instructions for the MODIC coding listed above and now await a telephone call bearing hopefully good news
     
     

  8.  
    #26
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    vanbasten's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46 320 d
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    vanbasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ahoghill, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Well Stealers say they have successfully coded OBC on cluster.

    Invoice says -

    Connected using ISTAP system - OBC retrofit unsuccessful
    Connected using SSS system - OBC retrofit successul

    The problem is, the button on stalk is not cycing through the options.

    This is what the final report says:

    Operations:
    CKM backup successful
    Instrument cluster successfully encoded
    CKM restoration successful
    ! could not completely clear fault code memories
    ! the following ecu(s) contain(s) further entries in the fault memory
    -GM 0x0048 (72)
    Adaptation of ZCS/VO successful

    Could this fault code be what is stopping stalk cycling through items?

    I have the 4 wires connecting to the stalk so dont think i need to worry bout laying a wire as it is already there and all four wires connect to cluster.
    Last edited by vanbasten; 21-01-2009 at 22:23.
     
     

  9.  
    #27
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Ronnie's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    See above
    Year of Manufacture:
    Never too old, never too new
    Transmission Type:
    Always manual
    Car Body Type:
    Usually 5 doors
    Ronnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset.
    Posts
    20,394
    Thanks
    6,198
    Thanked 7,051 Times in 5,322 Posts
    I've heard if a wire is missing then the stalk won't cycle through the options.
    Attached Files
     
     

  10.  
    #28
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    vanbasten's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46 320 d
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    vanbasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ahoghill, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post
    I've heard if a wire is missing then the stalk won't cycle through the options.
    See attached photo of my indicator stalk plug. To me it appears that the red/yellow wire is in chamber 10 when it is inserted into stalk and the brown wire is in chamber 1.

    Can 2 wires be placed into one chamber
    Attached Images
     
     

  11.  
    #29
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    Ronnie's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    See above
    Year of Manufacture:
    Never too old, never too new
    Transmission Type:
    Always manual
    Car Body Type:
    Usually 5 doors
    Ronnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth, Dorset.
    Posts
    20,394
    Thanks
    6,198
    Thanked 7,051 Times in 5,322 Posts
    I've got NealP on the case for you, in your pic though you have the yellow/red wire which is documented in the PDF that needs joining if you only have the 3 wire plug.

    I still think that it's not been enabled when it was coded by the dealers
     
     

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Ronnie For This Useful Post:

    vanbasten (25-01-2009)

  13.  
    #30
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    vanbasten's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    e46 320 d
    Year of Manufacture:
    2004
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    vanbasten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ahoghill, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post
    I've got NealP on the case for you, in your pic though you have the yellow/red wire which is documented in the PDF that needs joining if you only have the 3 wire plug.

    I still think that it's not been enabled when it was coded by the dealers

    Thanks Ronnie, I have pm'd NealP also!

    Seems wiring is all there as i checked cluster and there is a yellow/red wire going to chamber 13 on it.

    Here are 2 final reports for coding. First one was a successful coding and the second one is mine. I also think it hasn't been coded properly but need to be sure before i enter into a scrap with the dealer!!!
    Attached Images
     
     

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts