1996 E36 316i - Instrument Cluster no Gagues working

Notices
 

Thread: 1996 E36 316i - Instrument Cluster no Gagues working

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. 1996 E36 316i - Instrument Cluster no Gagues working 
    #1
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    uniQue's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    Hardrock
    Year of Manufacture:
    2009
    Transmission Type:
    Manual 22gears of awesomeness
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    uniQue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 180 Times in 138 Posts
    I retrofitted an OBC on the weekend and everything went great except I noticed one of the bulbs on the cluster was gone so I went to BMW today picked up a couple of replacement bulbs to fit.

    Got home pulled the cluster out fitted the new bulb and put it back in. The cluster working fine but main OBC screen wasn't displaying so took the cluster out again and noticed two of the pins had been squashed on one of the connectors from the cluster. Straightened them back up and reconnected, cluster working but OBC still not, took out a couple more times checking all wires everything fine then reconnecting now suddenly none of the gauges work and the odometer display doesne't work as well as the OBC :(

    Basically just went from bad to worse and wished I had just left the damn bulb alone :(

    Checked and replaced all fuses but still nothing. Power is getting to the OBC and cluster ok because the clock displays and all the other lights on the cluster come up such as airbag, indicators, and dash lights up with headlights on.

    Any ideas?
     
     

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  3.  
    #2
    BMW Guru
    Car Details
    mark@vorny.co.uk's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    911 C2S
    Year of Manufacture:
    2009
    Transmission Type:
    Automatic
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    mark@vorny.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Appleby Magna, Derbyshire
    Posts
    6,636
    Thanks
    5,139
    Thanked 3,738 Times in 2,697 Posts
    Anybody able to offer some help / advice ?
    2013, Porsche 911 Carrera 4S, PDK, Sports Exhaust, Chrono, etc, etc

    *removed

    BFUK weekday crew

    PLEASE READ THE POSTING RULES & HOW TO CORRECT THREAD TITLES & THE SELLING RULES
     
     

  4.  
    #3
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    uniQue's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    Hardrock
    Year of Manufacture:
    2009
    Transmission Type:
    Manual 22gears of awesomeness
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    uniQue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 180 Times in 138 Posts
    Been to a scrappy and got a replacement and all the dials working again so must be the cluster frazzled only problem now is that my car now has an extra 53,000 miles on the clock

    Any ideas on how I can get this set back to the proper mileage? I've all ready read about the tests you can do but unfortunately my e36 uses an older cluster that doesn't have all the tests just the binacle test
     
     

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BimmerForums.co.uk
    Advertisements
     

  6.  
    #4
    BMW Maestro
    Car Details
    w4vy's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    320i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1994
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    w4vy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Doncaster
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    1,555
    Thanked 502 Times in 446 Posts
    with carsoft I think. I know theres a milage programme out there to do it.

    Thanks Button Below, Be a Sport...
     
     

  7.  
    #5
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    ako89's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    318i SE
    Year of Manufacture:
    1993
    Transmission Type:
    Manual Obv!
    Car Body Type:
    Saloon
    ako89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 42 Times in 41 Posts
    I thought the E36 clocks had a chip that stored the milage, could you not just swop this round?
     
     

  8.  
    #6
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    uniQue's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    Hardrock
    Year of Manufacture:
    2009
    Transmission Type:
    Manual 22gears of awesomeness
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    uniQue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 180 Times in 138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ako89 View Post
    I thought the E36 clocks had a chip that stored the milage, could you not just swop this round?
    newer ones do, but mine does not :(
     
     

  9.  
    #7
    Bimmer Fan
    Car Details
    xXxStKxXx's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    325i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1993
    Transmission Type:
    man
    Car Body Type:
    saloon

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    North London
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    4,432
    Thanked 6,073 Times in 4,855 Posts
    The mileage is stored on the ECU and can be accessed by certain diagnostics equipment to get the true mileage however I haven't come across a way to change the mileage on a cluster yet-I think it may be a main dealer thing?Either that or get another cluster with less mileage on it.
     
     

  10.  
    #8
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    Tobe's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    316i
    Year of Manufacture:
    1999
    Transmission Type:
    Manual
    Car Body Type:
    Compact.

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
    There are tools to reset it, You may struggle to find them as its usually illegal to affect the mileage on any car.. but it has been know to happen as i know someone who did it.
     
     

  11.  
    #9
    BMW Crazed
    Car Details
    uniQue's Car Details
    Model of Car:
    Hardrock
    Year of Manufacture:
    2009
    Transmission Type:
    Manual 22gears of awesomeness
    Car Body Type:
    Coupe
    uniQue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 180 Times in 138 Posts
    Thanks for the rpelies, BMW wont do it unless you purchase a band new cluster, total cost inc coding is about £700 lol.

    Wondering if I buy a newer cluster that has a chip with lower mileage than mine I will be able to run all the tests on the cluster then have it do the test where it sets mileage to the higher of the two values?
     
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions
  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts